ACC formalizes partnerships with seven bowl games

Posted July 18, 2013

Fans of the Duke Blue Devils pose for a photo during a game against the Cincinnati Bearcats during the Belk Bowl at Bank of America Stadium on December 27, 2012 in Charlotte, North Carolina. (Photo by Lance King)

The Atlantic Coast Conference formally announced their partnership with seven bowl games Thursday, including the 12-year agreement previously reached with the Discover Orange Bowl.

The other six bowl games include the Russell Athletic Bowl in Orlando; the Hyundai Sun Bowl in El Paso, Texas; the Belk Bowl in Charlotte; the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville, Tenn.; the Gator Bowl in Jacksonville, Fla., and the New Era Pinstripe Bowl in New York City.

All seven bowl partnerships will run at least through the 2019 season. Additional bowl agreements are expected to be assembled with Notre Dame joining the league's postseason options.

According to the ACC, all the agreements have been made to increase conference revenues, reduce ticket obligations, add flexibility in selection of teams, make geographic proximity easier for fans, and “greatly increase presence in bowl games in Florida.”

The ACC will continue to send the conference champion, if that team is not part of the College Football Playoff, to the Orange Bowl. If the Orange Bowl is hosting one of the semifinal games of the College Football Playoff, the ACC champion will play in one of the other host bowls of the playoff – the Fiesta Bowl or the Chick-fil-A Bowl – if they are not playing in a semifinal game.

The Russell Athletic Bowl will have the first selection of ACC teams after the Orange Bowl and the College Football Playoff. An ACC team will also play in the Capital One Bowl whenever the Orange Bowl hosts a Big Ten team to play the ACC champion.

After those priority selections, teams will be relegated from a pool to go to the Hyundai Sun Bowl, the Belk Bowl, the New Era Pinstripe Bowl and either the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl or the Gator Bowl.

In the six-year cycle beginning after the 2014 season, the ACC will send a team to Nashville for the Music City Bowl three times and will send a team to the Gator Bowl game three times.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • buckets112 Jul 18, 2013

    i still don't get the tie in to the sun bowl in el paso. that will never be a heavily attended game by any acc teams. except for notre dame i guess.

  • StunGunn Jul 18, 2013

    View quoted thread

    +1 :-)

  • RDI762 Jul 18, 2013

    I certainly wont knock the Russell Athletic Bowl as being the second one behind the Orange Bowl :)

  • RadioDJ Jul 18, 2013

    It's a shame we couldn't get in the "Up & Coming Men's Erectile Dysfunction Viagra Bowl" or the "Feel fresh as a summer's eve feminine hygiene bowl" or the "Would someone please pass the mashed taters bowl?" We still have a long ways to go as a league........

  • RD n NC Jul 18, 2013

    Still way to many Bowls

  • sburks1906 Jul 18, 2013

    View quoted thread

    I know. That's the sorriest part about it. Maybe we'll land there during the years the Orange Bowl is part of the playoff rotation?

  • 4tarheels Jul 18, 2013

    Too bad we lost the peach bowl in atlanta.

  • lec02572 Jul 18, 2013

    Now, can you qualify enough teams to fill the slots?

  • VT1994Hokie Jul 18, 2013

    Pretty solid stuff. More monies for the ACC, and chance to be called winner of a Bowl.

  • sburks1906 Jul 18, 2013


  • Premier League Soccer : Manchester United vs. Leicester

    Saturday at 12:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Major League Baseball Washington Nationals at Houston Astros

    Wednesday at 7:30 pm on 95.7 The Ticket

Minor League Baseball
International League
Durham 10:05 PT11:05 MT12:05 CT1:05 ET6:05 GMT
Indianapolis 10:05 PT11:05 MT12:05 CT1:05 ET6:05 GMT
Gwinnett 10:05 PT11:05 MT12:05 CT1:05 ET6:05 GMT
Rochester 11:05 PT12:05 MT1:05 CT2:05 ET7:05 GMT
Pawtucket 1:05 PT2:05 MT3:05 CT4:05 ET9:05 GMT
Toledo 1:05 PT2:05 MT3:05 CT4:05 ET9:05 GMT
Lehigh Valley 2:05 PT3:05 MT4:05 CT5:05 ET10:05 GMT
Solheim Cup (LPGA)
USA: 16.5 | Europe: 11.5
Singles - Day 3
Hull1 up
LangF (18)
NordqvistF (18)
Matthew1 up
LewisF (18)
Salas1 up
Ewart ShadoffF (18)
Creamer1 up
HallF (18)
IcherF (18)
Kerr2 and 1
ReidF (17)
Kang3 and 1
PedersenF (17)
Sagstrom3 and 2
ErnstF (16)
Piller4 and 2
ParkerF (16)
Masson4 and 2
WieF (16)
Ciganda4 and 3
LincicomeF (15)
View Full Leaderboard
Paul Lawrie (EURO)
Leader in BOLD/CAPS
Siem v OTAEGUI172 and 1
CARLSSON v Canizares163 and 2
View Full Leaderboard
ATP Scoreboard
Sunday, Aug. 20
Western & Southern Open (ATP/WTA)
(7) G. Dimitrov6 7    
N. Kyrgios3 5    
Winston-Salem Open (ATP)
First Round
T. Monteiro6 6    
A. Dolgopolov3 3    
N. Kicker5 2    
A. Kuznetsov7 6    
M. Baghdatis7 7    
R. Berankis5 5    
J. Struff77 77    
N. Gombos63 64    
D. Lajovic6 6    
P. Chrysochos2 3    
WTA Scoreboard
Sunday, Aug. 20
Western & Southern Open (ATP/WTA)
(2) S. Halep1 0    
(4) G. Muguruza6 6    
Connecticut Open (WTA)
First Round
M. Lucic-Baro6 63 6   
A. Kontaveit4 77 3   
Y. Putintseva0 0    
A. Cornet6 6