ACC Tournament

Swofford shares how ESPN contract came to be

Posted February 16, 2011

ACC Commissioner John Swofford spoke at The Raleigh Sports Club Feb. 16, 2011.

— In a speech at The Raleigh Sports Club Wednesday, John Swofford, commissioner of the Atlantic Coast Conference, shared some of the behind-the-scenes details in the deal that landed the highly-coveted men's football and basketball games on the ESPN family of networks.

As the ACC negotiated with ESPN, Swofford said, the initial offer for broadcast rights was $1 billion. "I thought it was an insult," Swofford said he told his negotiating partners.

His instincts were correct. After about a year of negotiations he characterized as "tough," the conference signed a 12-year deal reportedly work almost twice that much.

The Associated Press reported that ESPN is paying $1.86 billion for games from 2011 to 2023. According to the AP's report, that works out to about double the league's current annual TV revenue.

Swofford said he was pleased not only because of the value of the contract, but because the ACC was able to preserve a long-standing relationship with Raycom Sports, which has carried the conference games since the early 1980s. The new deal allows ESPN to "sublease" some games to Raycom in ACC markets.

"This deal will takes us to new heights in financial, coverage, branding and technology," he said.

Although the contract officially kicks in next season, some of those impacts are already being felt. Swofford cited the ACC app and online video vault as advances facilitated by the partnership with ESPN. 

"You can watch live games on a iPad thing," he said with awe. 

Those are only some of the new opportunities the ACC has in store.

He also mentioned some programming changes he called advantages from the fans coming in the 2011-12 sports season.

Football games, previously slated for noon kick-offs, will now start at 12:30 p.m. Swofford said the extra half hour will allow more students to get to the games.

ACC Sunday night basketball games will tip no later than 6 p.m., a fact he said will sit well with coaches.

After his prepared remarks, Swofford took some questions. Key among them was the issue of a playoff to name a Division I football champion. While various options have been discussed, Swofford said the existing BCS bowl structure is successful and complex, and it unlikely to change.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • clemsontiger1982 Feb 20, 2011

    hahaha...too many typos and errors in this article! Good grief, does nobody proof read anymore?

  • TomP07 Feb 17, 2011

    View quoted thread

    I couldn't agree more. How awful is Raycom? I'm in my late 20s and I feel like they haven't updated their broadcasts at all.

  • DML Feb 17, 2011

    Swofford, I would have approved of this deal if you were somehow able to cut Raycom out of it. What a horrible network to broadcast our games, and in 2011 still some people aren't getting HD broadcasts because of their poor product. I won't even get into the announcers...

  • ronbo Feb 17, 2011

    What a joke in my opinion. It's about money, not education. Always has been and always will be.

  • pskunk119 Feb 17, 2011

    Has he explained how he let the Gator Bowl get away?

    The current BCS bowl structure is "successful and complex", yeah....right. "Slimy @rick" sounds about right.

  • No Party Affiliate Feb 16, 2011

    "Swofford said the existing BCS bowl structure is successful and complex, and it unlikely to change."

    What a slimy @rick. He sold his soul to the devil.

  • jdupree Feb 16, 2011

    The state of NC should attach the portion of this that relates to UNC and NCSU as these are state supported universities and any income derived from them should belong to all the taxpayers in NC.

  • Golf: Senior Open Championship

    Saturday at 12:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASCAR Xfinity Series #1: Iowa

    Saturday at 3:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Milwaukee Brewers at Washington Nationals

    Tomorrow at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • San Francisco Giants at LA Dodgers

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • San Francisco Giants at LA Dodgers

    Sunday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • Panthertalk with Ron Rivera

    Monday at 7:05 pm on 99.9 The Fan

Minor League Baseball
International League
Gwinnett 8:35 PT9:35 MT10:35 CT11:35 ET9:35 MT11:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 北京时间
Lehigh Valley 
Pawtucket 9:05 PT10:05 MT11:05 CT12:05 ET10:05 MT12:05 ET5:05 GMT1:05 北京时间
Louisville 10:05 PT11:05 MT12:05 CT1:05 ET11:05 MT1:05 ET6:05 GMT2:05 北京时间
Louisville 12:35 PT1:35 MT2:35 CT3:35 ET1:35 MT3:35 ET8:35 GMT4:35 北京时间
Rochester 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET5:05 MT7:05 ET12:05 GMT8:05 北京时间
Columbus 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET5:05 MT7:05 ET12:05 GMT8:05 北京时间
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET5:05 MT7:05 ET12:05 GMT8:05 北京时间
Durham 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET5:05 MT7:05 ET12:05 GMT8:05 北京时间
ATP Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jul. 25
Suisse Open Gstaad (ATP)
First Round
(8) J. Sousa6 4    
S. Giraldo3 1    
(6) R. Haase 
R. Olivo 
T. Monteiro 
A. Dolgopolov 
(7) D. Lajovic 
D. Brown 
(5) P. Lorenzi 
M. Chiudinell 
D. Brands 
E. Gulbis 
T. Bellucci 
H. Laaksonen 
Atlanta Open (ATP)
German Open (ATP)
First Round
(2) P. Cuevas3     
A. Kuznetsov2     
C. Berlocq 
F. Delbonis 
(7) F. Verdasco 
J. Vesely 
R. Dutra Silv 
A. Bedene 
(1) A. Ramos-Vino 
L. Mayer 
(3) K. Khachanov 
R. Molleker 
(8) D. Ferrer 
N. Basilashvi 
T. Haas 
N. Kicker 
P. Kohlschrei 
A. Rublev 
WTA Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jul. 25
Ericsson Open (WTA)
First Round
K. Kozlova3     
M. Bjorklund4     
I. Bara2     
E. Mertens5     
(5) C. Suarez Nav5     
J. Paolini1     
P. Tig2     
A. Rus3     
M. Trevisan 
V. Golubic 
C. Lister 
A. Krunic 
E. Alexandrov 
E. Kulichkova 
(1) C. Wozniacki 
P. Parmentier 
(9) J. Larsson 
M. Barthel 
B. Krejcikova 
A. Beck 
(8) J. Goerges 
V. Tomova 
(3) C. Garcia 
I. Begu 
(6) K. Bertens 
C. Witthoeft 
Jiangxi Open (WTA)
First Round
J. Lu3     
Z. Diyas2     
(5) Y. Duan3     
A. Rodionova2     
M. Kato1     
Y. Wang3     
(6) J. Jankovic 
J. Kang 
(8) R. Ozaki 
L. Zhu