banner
Hurricanes

Canes schedule stacked with 9 back-to-backs

Posted January 12, 2013

Just minutes after the NHL lockout officially ended, the Carolina Hurricanes announced their 48-game schedule.

The Canes will open the season at Florida on Jan. 19, before hosting their home opener at PNC Arena on Jan. 22, against the Tampa Bay Lightning.

The Hurricanes will play nine sets of back-to-back games starting with a home-and-home with the Buffalo Sabres on Jan. 24 in Raleigh and Jan. 25 in Buffalo. Carolina’s longest road trip comes in February, when it will play six consecutive games away from PNC Arena from Feb. 2-12. The team will have three three-game home stands during the season, and of the team’s 24 home games, 16 fall on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

Carolina will hold their first practice on Sunday at 1 p.m. at PNC Arena. Subsequent practices before the start of the season will be Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday at PNC Arena all starting at 11 a.m. They will also hold a scrimmage on Tuesday at Raleigh Center Ice starting at 11 a.m. All practices are open to the public.

A total of 27 players are on the team’s camp roster, including three goaltenders, eight defensemen and 16 forwards.

 

Hurricanes 2013 schedule:

DATE

Sat Jan 19
Tue Jan 22
Thu Jan 24
Fri Jan 25
Mon Jan 28
Fri Feb 1
Sat Feb 2
Mon Feb 4
Thu Feb 7
Sat Feb 9
Mon Feb 11
Tue Feb 12
Thu Feb 14
Mon Feb 18
Thu Feb 21
Sat Feb 23
Sun Feb 24
Tue Feb 26
Thu Feb 28
Sat Mar 2
Sun Mar 3
Tue Mar 5
Thu Mar 7
Sat Mar 9
Tue Mar 12
Thu Mar 14
Sat Mar 16
Mon Mar 18
Tue Mar 19
Thu Mar 21
Tue Mar 26
Thu Mar 28
Sat Mar 30
Mon Apr 1
Tue Apr 2
Thu Apr 4
Sat Apr 6
Mon Apr 8
Tue Apr 9
Thu Apr 11
Sat Apr 13
Tue Apr 16
Thu Apr 18
Sat Apr 20
Sun Apr 21
Tue Apr 23
Thu Apr 25
Sat Apr 27

AWAY

Hurricanes
Lightning
Sabres
Hurricanes
Bruins
Senators
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Maple Leafs
Hurricanes
Jets
Lightning
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Penguins
Panthers
Hurricanes
Sabres
Canadiens
Devils
Hurricanes
Capitals
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Panthers
Devils
Jets
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Capitals
Lightning
Rangers
Hurricanes
Penguins
Hurricanes
Bruins
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Flyers
Hurricanes
Islanders
Rangers
Hurricanes

HOME

Panthers
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Sabres
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Flyers
Maple Leafs
Senators
Flyers
Islanders
Devils
Hurricanes
Canadiens
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Islanders
Capitals
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Panthers
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Capitals
Hurricanes
Lightning
Rangers
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Maple Leafs
Jets
Canadiens
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Bruins
Hurricanes
Capitals
Hurricanes
Senators
Jets
Hurricanes
Lightning
Hurricanes
Hurricanes
Penguins

TIME

7:30 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:30 PM
1:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:30 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
6:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
3:00 PM
7:30 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:30 PM
8:00 PM
7:00 PM
6:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM
7:00 PM

 

7 Comments

This story is closed for comments.

Oldest First
View all
  • london12 Jan 14, 2:33 p.m.

    fish, c'mon! 30-18 !

  • 321oohaw Jan 13, 7:46 p.m.

    12-36

  • PanthersFan45 Jan 13, 5:26 p.m.

    It's going to be like a playoff atmosphere every game!

    — Posted by juniorsk831

    I agree, there is basically no rest in between games either as the schedule is packed tight. I like the Idea of the shortened season being ONLY games within your own conference. No big travel involved here except Winnipeg. That's a long flight in 1 day to get a game in ...... these guys have had plenty of off-season rest so they should be anxious to get back out on the ice.

  • fuzzter1 Jan 13, 2:06 p.m.

    Any news on FS-Carolinas broacasting, or NHL Center Ice offered for free?

  • jdpridg Jan 13, 10:56 a.m.

    Normally these type situations make me want to rebel against the sport, but I have to admit. I'll be there for every game I can. Thank you for bringing hockey back.

  • juniorsk831 Jan 13, 10:43 a.m.

    It's going to be like a playoff atmosphere every game!

  • tdd Jan 13, 9:51 a.m.

    Great news

  • ACC: North Carolina vs. Miami

    Tomorrow at 12:25 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NFL: San Diego vs. Miami

    Tomorrow at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • SEC: Florida vs. Georgia

    Tomorrow at 3:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • CFB: Notre Dame vs. Navy

    Tomorrow at 8:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • ACC: Duke at Pittsburgh

    Tomorrow at 12:00 pm on 620am

  • ACC: NC State at Syracuse

    Tomorrow at 3:00 pm on WRAL-FM

  • NHL: Carolina Hurricanes vs Arizona Coyotes

    Tomorrow at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • Football Friday with Tom Suiter

    Tonight at 11:35

Scoreboard
Local
Final
CAR 10
NOS 28
Final
ORL 98
WAS 105
Final
MIN 97
DET 91
Final
CLE 90
NYK 95
Final
DAL 120
UTA 102
Final
LAC 93
OKC 90
7:00pm Tonight
IND
MEM
 
8:00pm Tonight
CHI
CLE
 
8:30pm Tonight
MIL
PHI
 
10:00pm Tonight
SAC
POR
 
10:00pm Tonight
PHO
SAN
 
10:30pm Tonight
LAL
LAC
 
Final
LOU 31
FSU 42
Final
GASO 42
TROY 10
8:00pm Tonight
TULA
CIN
8:02pm Tonight
MEM
TULSA
Final
BUF 2
BOS 3
Final
PIT 3
LOS 0
Final
NJD 2
WIN 1
Final
FLA 2
ARI 1
Final
OTT 4
CHI 5
Final
TAM 4
PHI 3
Final
STL 2
ANA 0
Final
MIN 4
SJS 3
Final
COL 5
NYI 0
Final
VAN 3
MON 2
7:00pm Tonight
CLB
TOR
 
7:30pm Tonight
DET
LOS
 
8:30pm Tonight
DAL
ANA
 
9:00pm Tonight
CAL
NAS
 
Final
CAR 10
NOS 28