College Football

Coaches come together at Pigskin Preview

Posted July 24, 2014

Forget the close proximity of the Triangle, The Pigskin Preview puts all of the area coaches at one table and the crew always provides some laughs along the way.

First year NC Central head coach Jerry Mack joined Duke's David Cutcliffe, North Carolina's Larry Fedora, East Carolina's Ruffin McNeill and NC State's Dave Doeren at the Embassy Suites in Cary Thursday.

"We're focused on camp like Larry is, we're focused on... look he's throwing microphones around now," said Cutcliffe as Fedora's microphone fell on the table. 

Unlike most gatherings, this one includes questions that allow the audience to get to know the coaches outside of the game of football.

Moderator Don Shea asked the coaches about their secret talents.

"Fly fishing, that to me would be the number one thing that I love to do," said Doeren.

"I love to DJ. That's a plug for anybody that's got a party out there," said Mack.

And the coaches talked about what's on the top of their bucket lists.

"Bora  Bora, where the  island waters clear and they have those little huts over the water," said McNeill.

Tucked in with the personality was some real talk about the state of the sport. Each coach addressing the new college football playoff. 

"I know whatever the number is you put out there, there's going to be a team left out," said Doeren. "You know, I think starting at four is a good number."

"I like what we've done, I truly do," said Cutcliffe. "We've had a playoff, it's been a two-team playoff but we're had a playoff for a long time. We have the healthiest regular season of all sport."

"Not a proponent of adding more teams because again we're talking about adding more games and again, unless we're going to get more scholarships and we're going to have more players to play with. And that's not going to happen," said Fedora.

The event closed with a simple question for all five coaches – how many of them could name all four members of the Beattles. 

And only one could, Duke coach David Cutcliffe. 

Good thing pop culture won't earn these guys a single point on the field this season.

11 Comments

Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • A cold, hard dose of Hans Jul 28, 2014

    View quoted thread


    Yeah, U2 is a solid band. Well, they used to be anyways.

  • TTSCP Jul 26, 2014

    View quoted thread



    ignore hans

  • Hammerhead Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    I agree Hokie, U2 rocks!!

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    You too.

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    Pretty pitiful that only Coach Cut could name them. Funny. Really. These others listened to the hip-hop, and stuff that only a selected few can even comprehend.

  • A cold, hard dose of Hans Jul 25, 2014

    The Beatles suck.

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    Though the Beatles played a lot of different music, most of it would be classified as alternative rock or pop music. Just not everyone was into that type of music.

    But certainly, almost anyone over 30 or 40 would know of the Beatles. But naming their names? Only if you were really into them.

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014
    user avatar

    View quoted thread


    Maybe it's because I grew up listening to and really enjoying the Beatles' music, I thought they were iconic, and anyone not living under a rock would be able to name the four mop tops. That said, you may be right because I had checked the ratings on the CBS special on the Beatles' 50th anniversary, and it got terrible ratings, and it was highly promoted by CBS.

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    Wow, really?!

    There are plenty of people over 40 who could not name the Beatles because as much as the Beatles may have been famous for a number of people, they drew little interest to many.

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014
    user avatar

    View quoted thread


    Was thinking the same thing, 903, and the 50th anniversary of the Beatles coming to America was all over the news recently, so I can't imagine anyone not being able to name the Beatles. Maybe all they watch is ESPN.....

More...

 

 

TV
  • CBB: Wake Forest at Syracuse

    Tonight at 8:00 on WRAL-2

  • CBB: Duke at Wake Forest

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NFL: NC State at Louisville

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NHL: All-Star Game

    Sunday at 3:30 pm on WRAL-TV

Men's College Basketball
1
5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST8:00 EST
Preview
2
4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
18
4
6:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 北京时间7:00 MST9:00 EST
Preview
12
5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST8:00 EST
Preview
14
13
4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
6:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 北京时间7:00 MST9:00 EST
Preview
15
20
4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
22
3:30 PT4:30 MT5:30 CT6:30 ET11:30 GMT7:30 北京时间4:30 MST6:30 EST
Preview
23
NFL Scoreboard
Sunday, Jan. 29
AFC 5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST8:00 EST7:00 CT5:00 UAE (+1)20:00 ETNaN:�
NFC 
NBA Scoreboard
Chicago 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)01:0019:00 ET6:00 CTNaN:�
Preview
Orlando 
LA Clippers 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)01:0019:00 ET6:00 CTNaN:�
Preview
Philadelphia 
Boston 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)01:0019:00 ET6:00 CTNaN:�
Preview
Washington 
San Antonio 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)01:0019:00 ET6:00 CTNaN:�
Preview
Toronto 
Utah 6:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 MST9:00 EST6:00 UAE (+1)03:0021:00 ET8:00 CTNaN:�
Preview
Denver 
Minnesota 6:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 MST9:00 EST6:00 UAE (+1)03:0021:00 ET8:00 CTNaN:�
Preview
Phoenix 
NHL Scoreboard
Detroit 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)19:00 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Boston 
Los Angeles 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)19:00 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
New Jersey 
Columbus 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)19:00 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
NY Islanders 
St. Louis 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)19:00 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Pittsburgh 
Calgary 4:30 PT5:30 MT6:30 CT7:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 北京时间5:30 MST7:30 EST4:30 UAE (+1)19:30 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Montreal 
Washington 4:30 PT5:30 MT6:30 CT7:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 北京时间5:30 MST7:30 EST4:30 UAE (+1)19:30 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Ottawa 
Buffalo 5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST8:00 EST5:00 UAE (+1)20:00 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Nashville 
San Jose 5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 北京时间6:00 MST8:00 EST5:00 UAE (+1)20:00 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Winnipeg 
Tampa Bay 5:30 PT6:30 MT7:30 CT8:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 北京时间6:30 MST8:30 EST5:30 UAE (+1)20:30 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Chicago 
Minnesota 5:30 PT6:30 MT7:30 CT8:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 北京时间6:30 MST8:30 EST5:30 UAE (+1)20:30 ETNaN:� BRT
Preview
Dallas 
ATP Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jan. 24
Australian Open (ATP/WTA)
Quarterfinals
(17) R. Federer6 7 6   
M. Zverev1 5 2   
(11) D. Goffin 
(15) G. Dimitrov 
 
WTA Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jan. 24
Australian Open (ATP/WTA)
Quarterfinals
(5) K. Pliskova 
M. Lucic-Baro 
(2) S. Williams 
(9) J. Konta