College Football

Coaches come together at Pigskin Preview

Posted July 24, 2014

Forget the close proximity of the Triangle, The Pigskin Preview puts all of the area coaches at one table and the crew always provides some laughs along the way.

First year NC Central head coach Jerry Mack joined Duke's David Cutcliffe, North Carolina's Larry Fedora, East Carolina's Ruffin McNeill and NC State's Dave Doeren at the Embassy Suites in Cary Thursday.

"We're focused on camp like Larry is, we're focused on... look he's throwing microphones around now," said Cutcliffe as Fedora's microphone fell on the table. 

Unlike most gatherings, this one includes questions that allow the audience to get to know the coaches outside of the game of football.

Moderator Don Shea asked the coaches about their secret talents.

"Fly fishing, that to me would be the number one thing that I love to do," said Doeren.

"I love to DJ. That's a plug for anybody that's got a party out there," said Mack.

And the coaches talked about what's on the top of their bucket lists.

"Bora  Bora, where the  island waters clear and they have those little huts over the water," said McNeill.

Tucked in with the personality was some real talk about the state of the sport. Each coach addressing the new college football playoff. 

"I know whatever the number is you put out there, there's going to be a team left out," said Doeren. "You know, I think starting at four is a good number."

"I like what we've done, I truly do," said Cutcliffe. "We've had a playoff, it's been a two-team playoff but we're had a playoff for a long time. We have the healthiest regular season of all sport."

"Not a proponent of adding more teams because again we're talking about adding more games and again, unless we're going to get more scholarships and we're going to have more players to play with. And that's not going to happen," said Fedora.

The event closed with a simple question for all five coaches – how many of them could name all four members of the Beattles. 

And only one could, Duke coach David Cutcliffe. 

Good thing pop culture won't earn these guys a single point on the field this season.



11 Comments

Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • A cold, hard dose of Hans Jul 28, 2014

    View quoted thread


    Yeah, U2 is a solid band. Well, they used to be anyways.

  • TTSCP Jul 26, 2014

    View quoted thread



    ignore hans

  • Hammerhead Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    I agree Hokie, U2 rocks!!

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    You too.

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    Pretty pitiful that only Coach Cut could name them. Funny. Really. These others listened to the hip-hop, and stuff that only a selected few can even comprehend.

  • A cold, hard dose of Hans Jul 25, 2014

    The Beatles suck.

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    Though the Beatles played a lot of different music, most of it would be classified as alternative rock or pop music. Just not everyone was into that type of music.

    But certainly, almost anyone over 30 or 40 would know of the Beatles. But naming their names? Only if you were really into them.

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014
    user avatar

    View quoted thread


    Maybe it's because I grew up listening to and really enjoying the Beatles' music, I thought they were iconic, and anyone not living under a rock would be able to name the four mop tops. That said, you may be right because I had checked the ratings on the CBS special on the Beatles' 50th anniversary, and it got terrible ratings, and it was highly promoted by CBS.

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread


    Wow, really?!

    There are plenty of people over 40 who could not name the Beatles because as much as the Beatles may have been famous for a number of people, they drew little interest to many.

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014
    user avatar

    View quoted thread


    Was thinking the same thing, 903, and the 50th anniversary of the Beatles coming to America was all over the news recently, so I can't imagine anyone not being able to name the Beatles. Maybe all they watch is ESPN.....

More...

 

 

  • ACTION: Dew Tour

    Tonight at 5:00 on WRAL-TV

  • GOLF: Women's British Open

    Tonight at 11:00 on WRAL-TV

  • Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series: Haskell

    Tomorrow at 5:00 am on WRAL-TV

  • MLS: Kansas City at Portland

    Tomorrow at 2:00 pm on FOX50

  • ACTION: Dew Tour

    Tomorrow at 2:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NHRA Sonoma Nationals

    Tomorrow at 4:00 pm on FOX50

  • OLYMPICS: Kerri Walsh Special

    Tomorrow at 4:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • GOLF: Women's British Open

    Tomorrow at 11:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MiLB: Bulls vs. Louisville

    Tonight at 6:30 on Buzz Sports Radio

  • NASL: RailHawks at FC Edmonton

    Tomorrow at 4:00 pm on 1550 The Ticket

MLB Scoreboard
Interleague
Seattle 11:20 PT12:20 MT1:20 CT2:20 ET14:20 ET18:20 GMT2:20 11:20 MST1:20 EST1:50 VEN22:20 UAE1:20 CT
Preview
Chi Cubs 
American League
Baltimore 10:07 PT11:07 MT12:07 CT1:07 ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 MST12:07 EST12:37 VEN21:07 UAE12:07 CT
Preview
Toronto 
 
NY Yankees 3:10 PT4:10 MT5:10 CT6:10 ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 MST5:10 EST5:40 VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 CT
Preview
Tampa Bay 
 
Oakland 4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Cleveland 
 
Houston 4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Detroit 
 
Chi White Sox 4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Minnesota 
 
Kansas City 5:05 PT6:05 MT7:05 CT8:05 ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 MST7:05 EST7:35 VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 CT
Preview
Texas 
 
Boston 6:05 PT7:05 MT8:05 CT9:05 ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 MST8:05 EST8:35 VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 CT
Preview
LA Angels 
National League
Washington 1:05 PT2:05 MT3:05 CT4:05 ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 MST3:05 EST3:35 VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 CT
Preview
San Francisco 
 
Pittsburgh 4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Milwaukee 
 
Philadelphia 4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Atlanta 
 
Colorado 4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
NY Mets 
 
St. Louis 4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Miami 
 
Cincinnati 5:40 PT6:40 MT7:40 CT8:40 ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 MST7:40 EST8:10 VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 CT
Preview
San Diego 
 
Arizona 6:10 PT7:10 MT8:10 CT9:10 ET21:10 ET1:10 GMT9:10 6:10 MST8:10 EST8:40 VEN5:10 UAE (+1)8:10 CT
Preview
LA Dodgers 
 
ATP Scoreboard
Saturday, Jul. 30
Rogers Cup (ATP)
Semifinals
(2) S. Wawrinka 
(3) K. Nishikori 
(1) N. Djokovic 
(10) G. Monfils 
 
WTA Scoreboard
Saturday, Jul. 30
Rogers Cup (WTA)
Semifinals
(2) A. Kerber 
(5) S. Halep 
(10) M. Keys 
K. Kucova