banner
College Football

Coaches come together at Pigskin Preview

Posted July 24, 2014

Forget the close proximity of the Triangle, The Pigskin Preview puts all of the area coaches at one table and the crew always provides some laughs along the way.

First year NC Central head coach Jerry Mack joined Duke's David Cutcliffe, North Carolina's Larry Fedora, East Carolina's Ruffin McNeill and NC State's Dave Doeren at the Embassy Suites in Cary Thursday.

"We're focused on camp like Larry is, we're focused on... look he's throwing microphones around now," said Cutcliffe as Fedora's microphone fell on the table. 

Unlike most gatherings, this one includes questions that allow the audience to get to know the coaches outside of the game of football.

Moderator Don Shea asked the coaches about their secret talents.

"Fly fishing, that to me would be the number one thing that I love to do," said Doeren.

"I love to DJ. That's a plug for anybody that's got a party out there," said Mack.

And the coaches talked about what's on the top of their bucket lists.

"Bora  Bora, where the  island waters clear and they have those little huts over the water," said McNeill.

Tucked in with the personality was some real talk about the state of the sport. Each coach addressing the new college football playoff. 

"I know whatever the number is you put out there, there's going to be a team left out," said Doeren. "You know, I think starting at four is a good number."

"I like what we've done, I truly do," said Cutcliffe. "We've had a playoff, it's been a two-team playoff but we're had a playoff for a long time. We have the healthiest regular season of all sport."

"Not a proponent of adding more teams because again we're talking about adding more games and again, unless we're going to get more scholarships and we're going to have more players to play with. And that's not going to happen," said Fedora.

The event closed with a simple question for all five coaches – how many of them could name all four members of the Beattles. 

And only one could, Duke coach David Cutcliffe. 

Good thing pop culture won't earn these guys a single point on the field this season.

11 Comments

Please to add a comment.

Newest First
View all
  • 903 Born To Be Hateddd Jul 24, 2014

    I can't fathom anyone older than 30 or 40 unable to name the 4 Beatles... I will give a pass to younger ones since they grew up in a generation of truly awful music...

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Was thinking the same thing, 903, and the 50th anniversary of the Beatles coming to America was all over the news recently, so I can't imagine anyone not being able to name the Beatles. Maybe all they watch is ESPN.....

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Wow, really?!

    There are plenty of people over 40 who could not name the Beatles because as much as the Beatles may have been famous for a number of people, they drew little interest to many.

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Maybe it's because I grew up listening to and really enjoying the Beatles' music, I thought they were iconic, and anyone not living under a rock would be able to name the four mop tops. That said, you may be right because I had checked the ratings on the CBS special on the Beatles' 50th anniversary, and it got terrible ratings, and it was highly promoted by CBS.

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Though the Beatles played a lot of different music, most of it would be classified as alternative rock or pop music. Just not everyone was into that type of music.

    But certainly, almost anyone over 30 or 40 would know of the Beatles. But naming their names? Only if you were really into them.

  • A cold, hard dose of Hans Jul 25, 2014

    The Beatles suck.

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    Pretty pitiful that only Coach Cut could name them. Funny. Really. These others listened to the hip-hop, and stuff that only a selected few can even comprehend.

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread

    You too.

  • Hammerhead Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    I agree Hokie, U2 rocks!!

  • TTSCP Jul 26, 2014

    View quoted thread


    ignore hans

More...

 

 

  • ACC: Wofford at Clemson

    Today at 12:25 pm on WRAL-TV

  • CFB: Louisville at Auburn

    Today at 3:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • CFB: Virginia at UCLA

    Today at 3:30 pm on FOX50

  • WRAL Sports Sunday

    Tomorrow at 11:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASL: RailHawks at San Antonio

    Wednesday at 8:30 pm on WRAL-2

  • NASL: RailHawks at Minnesota

    Saturday, Sep. 12 at 8:00 pm on WRAL-2

  • CFB: NC State vs. Troy

    Tonight at 6:00 on WRAL-FM

AP Top 25
Thu, Sept 3
6Final
16
69
 
2
23Final
17
 
32Final
22
42
Fri, Sept 4
4
56Final
21
 
5
37Final
24
 
13Final
23
16
Sat, Sept 5
9:00 PT10:00 MT11:00 CT12:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 北京时间9:00 MST11:00 EST
Preview
9
 
21
9:00 PT10:00 MT11:00 CT12:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 北京时间9:00 MST11:00 EST
Preview
 
9:00 PT10:00 MT11:00 CT12:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 北京时间9:00 MST11:00 EST
Preview
17
 
9:30 PT10:30 MT11:30 CT12:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 北京时间9:30 MST11:30 EST
Preview
12
 
12:30 PT1:30 MT2:30 CT3:30 ET7:30 GMT3:30 北京时间12:30 MST2:30 EST
Preview
18
 
12:30 PT1:30 MT2:30 CT3:30 ET7:30 GMT3:30 北京时间12:30 MST2:30 EST
Preview
6
 
12:30 PT1:30 MT2:30 CT3:30 ET7:30 GMT3:30 北京时间12:30 MST2:30 EST
Preview
13
 
1:00 PT2:00 MT3:00 CT4:00 ET8:00 GMT4:00 北京时间1:00 MST3:00 EST
Preview
24
 
1:00 PT2:00 MT3:00 CT4:00 ET8:00 GMT4:00 北京时间1:00 MST3:00 EST
Preview
25
 
4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET11:00 GMT7:00 北京时间4:00 MST6:00 EST
Preview
19
 
15
4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET11:00 GMT7:00 北京时间4:00 MST6:00 EST
Preview
 
4:30 PT5:30 MT6:30 CT7:30 ET11:30 GMT7:30 北京时间4:30 MST6:30 EST
Preview
14
 
4:30 PT5:30 MT6:30 CT7:30 ET11:30 GMT7:30 北京时间4:30 MST6:30 EST
Preview
11
 
20
5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
3
 
5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
10
 
5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
7
 
8:00 PT9:00 MT10:00 CT11:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 北京时间8:00 MST10:00 EST
Preview
8
Mon, Sept 7
1
5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET12:00 GMT8:00 北京时间5:00 MST7:00 EST
Preview
 
ATP Scoreboard
Saturday, Sep. 5
US Open (ATP/WTA)
Third Round
(12) R. Gasquet 
(24) B. Tomic 
(6) T. Berdych 
(31) G. Garcia-Lop 
(13) J. Isner 
J. Vesely 
(2) R. Federer 
(29) P. Kohlschrei 
(22) V. Troicki 
D. Young 
(5) S. Wawrinka 
R. Bemelmans 
(15) K. Anderson 
(20) D. Thiem 
(3) A. Murray 
(30) T. Bellucci 
 
WTA Scoreboard
Saturday, Sep. 5
US Open (ATP/WTA)
Third Round
(5) P. Kvitova 
(32) A. Schmiedlov 
(18) A. Petkovic 
J. Konta 
(26) F. Pennetta 
P. Cetkovska 
(16) S. Errani 
(22) S. Stosur 
M. Barthel 
V. Lepchenko 
(11) A. Kerber 
(20) V. Azarenka 
(24) S. Lisicki 
B. Strycova 
(2) S. Halep 
S. Rogers