banner
College Football

Coaches come together at Pigskin Preview

Posted July 24, 2014

Forget the close proximity of the Triangle, The Pigskin Preview puts all of the area coaches at one table and the crew always provides some laughs along the way.

First year NC Central head coach Jerry Mack joined Duke's David Cutcliffe, North Carolina's Larry Fedora, East Carolina's Ruffin McNeill and NC State's Dave Doeren at the Embassy Suites in Cary Thursday.

"We're focused on camp like Larry is, we're focused on... look he's throwing microphones around now," said Cutcliffe as Fedora's microphone fell on the table. 

Unlike most gatherings, this one includes questions that allow the audience to get to know the coaches outside of the game of football.

Moderator Don Shea asked the coaches about their secret talents.

"Fly fishing, that to me would be the number one thing that I love to do," said Doeren.

"I love to DJ. That's a plug for anybody that's got a party out there," said Mack.

And the coaches talked about what's on the top of their bucket lists.

"Bora  Bora, where the  island waters clear and they have those little huts over the water," said McNeill.

Tucked in with the personality was some real talk about the state of the sport. Each coach addressing the new college football playoff. 

"I know whatever the number is you put out there, there's going to be a team left out," said Doeren. "You know, I think starting at four is a good number."

"I like what we've done, I truly do," said Cutcliffe. "We've had a playoff, it's been a two-team playoff but we're had a playoff for a long time. We have the healthiest regular season of all sport."

"Not a proponent of adding more teams because again we're talking about adding more games and again, unless we're going to get more scholarships and we're going to have more players to play with. And that's not going to happen," said Fedora.

The event closed with a simple question for all five coaches – how many of them could name all four members of the Beattles. 

And only one could, Duke coach David Cutcliffe. 

Good thing pop culture won't earn these guys a single point on the field this season.

11 Comments

Please to add a comment.

Newest First
View all
  • 903 Born To Be Hateddd Jul 24, 2014

    I can't fathom anyone older than 30 or 40 unable to name the 4 Beatles... I will give a pass to younger ones since they grew up in a generation of truly awful music...

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Was thinking the same thing, 903, and the 50th anniversary of the Beatles coming to America was all over the news recently, so I can't imagine anyone not being able to name the Beatles. Maybe all they watch is ESPN.....

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Wow, really?!

    There are plenty of people over 40 who could not name the Beatles because as much as the Beatles may have been famous for a number of people, they drew little interest to many.

  • Jeanne Gunn Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Maybe it's because I grew up listening to and really enjoying the Beatles' music, I thought they were iconic, and anyone not living under a rock would be able to name the four mop tops. That said, you may be right because I had checked the ratings on the CBS special on the Beatles' 50th anniversary, and it got terrible ratings, and it was highly promoted by CBS.

  • uBnice Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    Though the Beatles played a lot of different music, most of it would be classified as alternative rock or pop music. Just not everyone was into that type of music.

    But certainly, almost anyone over 30 or 40 would know of the Beatles. But naming their names? Only if you were really into them.

  • A cold, hard dose of Hans Jul 25, 2014

    The Beatles suck.

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    Pretty pitiful that only Coach Cut could name them. Funny. Really. These others listened to the hip-hop, and stuff that only a selected few can even comprehend.

  • vt94hokies Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread

    You too.

  • Hammerhead Jul 25, 2014

    View quoted thread



    I agree Hokie, U2 rocks!!

  • TTSCP Jul 26, 2014

    View quoted thread


    ignore hans

More...

 

 

  • PGA Golf: Quicken Loans National

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • PGA Golf: Quicken Loans National

    Sunday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • PGA Tour Special: PGA Tour 2015: Playing with a Purpose

    Saturday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • PGA Golf: WGC – Bridgestone Invitational

    Saturday at 2:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • PGA Golf: WGC – Bridgestone Invitational

    Sunday at 2:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MiLB: Durham Bulls vs. Gwinnett Braves

    Tomorrow at 6:20 pm on Buzz Sports Radio

  • MLB: LA Angels vs. Houston

    Tomorrow at 8:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • MLB: Washington Nationals at NY Mets

    Saturday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • MLB: Washington Nationals at NY Mets

    Sunday at 8:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

MLB Scoreboard
Interleague
Atlanta4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 MST6:05 EST6:35 VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 CT
Preview
Baltimore
 
Philadelphia4:07 PT5:07 MT6:07 CT7:07 ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 MST6:07 EST6:37 VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 CT
Preview
Toronto
 
Pittsburgh5:10 PT6:10 MT7:10 CT8:10 ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 MST7:10 EST7:40 VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 CT
Preview
Minnesota
 
Arizona 7:10 PT8:10 MT9:10 CT10:10 ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 MST9:10 EST9:40 VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 CT
Preview
Seattle 
 
Oakland 7:10 PT8:10 MT9:10 CT10:10 ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 MST9:10 EST9:40 VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 CT
Preview
LA Dodgers 
American League
Chi White Sox4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Boston
 
Kansas City4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Cleveland
 
Detroit4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Tampa Bay
 
NY Yankees 5:05 PT6:05 MT7:05 CT8:05 ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 MST7:05 EST7:35 VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 CT
Preview
Texas 
 
LA Angels5:10 PT6:10 MT7:10 CT8:10 ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 MST7:10 EST7:40 VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 CT
Preview
Houston
National League
San Diego4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
NY Mets
 
Washington4:10 PT5:10 MT6:10 CT7:10 ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 MST6:10 EST6:40 VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 CT
Preview
Miami
 
Colorado5:05 PT6:05 MT7:05 CT8:05 ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 MST7:05 EST7:35 VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 CT
Preview
Chi Cubs
 
Cincinnati5:15 PT6:15 MT7:15 CT8:15 ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 MST7:15 EST7:45 VEN4:15 UAE (+1)7:15 CT
Preview
St. Louis
 
Milwaukee 7:15 PT8:15 MT9:15 CT10:15 ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 MST9:15 EST9:45 VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 CT
Preview
San Francisco 
 
ATP Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jul. 28
BB&T Atlanta Open (ATP)
First Round
(5) M. Baghdatis6 6    
A. Krajicek4 0    
(6) S. Johnson6 63 6   
L. Lacko1 77 2   
(8) B. Becker7 0    
M. Berrer5 0    
D. Kudla3 6 77   
R. Harrison6 4 65   
S. Devvarman1 6 4   
J. Donaldson6 3 6   
S. Groth77 2    
F. Tiafoe63 1    
D. Sela 
M. Fish 
 
bet-at-home Open (ATP)
First Round
A. Bedene6 6    
D. Gimeno-Tra4 1    
(6) J. Monaco6 65 6   
E. Gulbis3 77 3   
(4) A. Seppi6 6    
M. Klizan2 4    
(3) R. Bautista A6 6    
B. Coric3 4    
L. Rosol63 66    
S. Bolelli77 78    
(8) F. Fognini6 65 6   
J. Chardy3 77 4   
(7) G. Garcia-Lop2     
J. Munar1     
B. Paire6 3 6   
P. Kohlschrei3 6 1   
(1) R. Nadal3 6 6   
F. Verdasco6 1 1   
(2) T. Robredo63 6 6   
A. Zverev77 4 2   
J. Vesely3 6 0   
A. Haider-Mau6 1 0   
 
Suisse Open Gstaad (ATP)
First Round
B. Kavcic6 0    
J. Reister4 2    
S. Robert6 6    
J. Souza1 4    
(5) T. Bellucci6 6    
K. Coppejans2 3    
(8) S. Giraldo6 6    
P. Lorenzi3 2    
R. Haase1 77 6   
M. Granollers6 61 4   
(7) P. Carreno Bu6 6    
M. Youzhny1 2    
M. Ilhan6 6    
A. Kuznetsov1 2    
(6) J. Sousa6 7    
H. Laaksonen2 5    
 
WTA Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jul. 28
Brasil Tennis Cup (WTA)
First Round
V. Cepede Roy6 6    
P. Goncalves0 3    
A. Pivovarova4 6 1   
E. Kostova6 4 6   
(7) L. Siegemund6 6    
M. Melnikova2 1    
R. Peterson3 5    
M. Torro-Flor6 7    
(3) A. Beck6 6    
C. Alves1 2    
C. Burger6 66 2   
G. Ce4 78 6   
Q. Lemoine5 5    
T. Martincova7 7    
(6) L. Chirico1 4    
A. Sevastova6 6    
R. Ozaki68 6 6   
A. Gamiz710 4 3   
(4) T. Pereira63 6 7   
M. Irigoyen77 3 5   
(5) B. Mattek-San5 6 6   
M. Minella7 3 4   
A. Bogdan6 6    
L. Stefani3 2    
 
Baku Cup (WTA)
First Round
(7) V. Diatchenko6 6    
N. Abduraimov3 4    
K. Bondarenko6 6    
V. Ivakhnenko1 2    
Y. Beygelzime3 0    
Z. Yang6 0    
(4) K. Nara3 2    
O. Savchuk6 6    
O. Ianchuk4 2    
P. Tig6 6    
K. Pliskova6 5 3   
L. Zhu3 7 6   
A. Kontaveit7 6    
M. Eguchi5 2    
C. Buyukakcay1 77 4   
K. Flipkens6 63 6