Three Tar Heels, Duke's Rivers named to All-ACC 1st Team

Posted March 5, 2012

Tyler Zeller, John Henson and Harrison Barnes represent North Carolina, joined by Duke's Austin Rivers on this year's All-ACC First Team.

Zeller, the only unanimous selection, ranks fifth in the ACC in scoring at better than 16 points per game and is second in the conference in rebounding. Henson leads the ACC in both rebounds and blocks per game. ACC Logo 2012 men's ACC printable bracket

“We are ecstatic about this announcement,” said UNC head coach Roy Williams. “I have always felt the teams that win should get the awards, but it’s driven by great player performances and that’s what they have done ... I’m happy for them, and hopefully they will be hungrier to do even more.”

Virginia's Mike Scott was also named to the All-ACC First Team receiving 184 of 186 possible points.

Rivers was also named ACC Rookie of the Week for the league-leading ninth time this season on Monday. Rivers is the seventh freshman to make the first team and first since Tyler Hansbrough in 2006.

Duke has had a first team all-league pick in five straight years and in 15 of the last 16 seasons.

Barnes, who is third in scoring in the ACC, edged teammate Kendall Marshall by two voting points for the final spot on the first team.

Marshall, and the league's leading scorer, Maryland's Terrell Stoglin, made the second team along with NC State's CJ Leslie. Florida State's Michael Snaer and Virginia Tech's Erick Green were also named second-teamers. 2014 NCAA Moe's bracket challenge logo 2014 NCAA Upfront Bracket Challenge

Marshall averaged 9.6 assists per game and is just five away from setting the league's single-season record.

The third team consists of Duke's Seth Curry and Mason Plumlee, Wake Forest's C.J. Harris, NC State's Lorenzo Brown and Miami's Kenny Kadji.

North Carolina is the second team in league history with three first-teamers and first since Duke in 2002. It is the third time UNC has placed four players on the first two teams (1972, 1998) and 23rd time they have placed multiple players on the first team.

Barnes, Henson and Zeller were second-team All-ACC selections in 2011 and Marshall made the third team.

Henson and Snaer were joined on the all-defensive team by Florida State's Bernard James, Virginia's Jontel Evans and Clemson's Andre Young.

The all-freshman team consisted of Rivers, Boston College's Ryan Anderson, Virginia Tech's Dorian Finney-Smith, Miami's Shane Larkin and Maryland's Nick Faust.

Henson was listed on 61 ballots for the all-defensive team while Rivers and Anderson appeared on 61 ballots for the all-freshman team (One voter did not vote for any players for those two teams).

The league will announce its individual award winners - player, coach, rookie and defensive player of the year - on Tuesday.


The All-ACC teams, as announced Monday by ACC following a vote of 62 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA). First-team votes were worth three points, with second-team votes worth two points and third-team votes worth one point:

Tyler Zeller, North Carolina (186)
Mike Scott, Virginia (184)
John Henson, North Carolina (170)
Austin Rivers, Duke (164)
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (153)

Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (151)
Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (131)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (127)
C.J. Leslie, NC State (99)
Erick Green, Virginia Tech (70)

Seth Curry, Duke (65)
C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (57)
Lorenzo Brown, NC State (52)
Kenny Kadji, Miami (45)
Mason Plumlee, Duke (43)

Bernard James, Florida State (42); Andre Young, Clemson (35); Travis McKie, Wake Forest (26); Durand Scott, Miami (26).

John Henson, North Carolina (61)
Bernard James, Florida State (54)
Jontel Evans, Virginia (39)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (31)
Andre Young, Clemson (29)

Austin Rivers, Duke (61)
Ryan Anderson, Boston College (61)
Dorian Finney-Smith, Virginia Tech (53)
Shane Larkin, Miami (43)
Nick Faust, Maryland (41)

*One voter did not vote for the all-defensive or all-freshman teams.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Newest First
View all
  • ger Mar 5, 2012


  • mxteam44 Mar 5, 2012

    Boy! There's some whining about to start up in here!!!!

  • jrt0856 Mar 5, 2012

    Should have been four UNC players. But I guess you have to have at least 1 duke guy.

  • sportznut628 Mar 5, 2012

    Mike Scott not being unanimous is totally ridiculous...totally

  • mattmoore Mar 5, 2012

    I would say switch henson and leslie and switch marshall and rivers... thats all!!go state

  • BlueDeviIs00 Mar 5, 2012

    Marshall deserved it over Barnes. The kid is the ringleader for the best fast break in the country. Just because he can't shoot or defend doesn't mean he's not making huge contributions.

  • VT1994Hokie Mar 5, 2012

    I don't have a problem with these selections. UNC as all know is loaded with talent, and they are playing up to their potential presently. The rest of the players have time to grow and improve. This year some teams had some strong freshmen.

  • wilkhow Mar 5, 2012

    Great for Rivers-Now go get that 4th straight acc tournment victory. Oh sorry the Duke invitational-I think that would be 11 out of 14.

  • tgriffin45 Mar 5, 2012

    Should be Marshall over Barnes,,,,,Marshall far more valuable to team than Barnes

  • Zaknow Mar 5, 2012

    I think the first team is correct except for Barnes, Marshall has played a more important role for UNC and should have been named to the first team. Congratulations to all those named!




  • CBB: Texas A&M at LSU

    Saturday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • PGA: AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • CIAA: Winston Salem State @ Fayetteville State

    Saturday at 4:00 pm on METV 50.2

  • Nascar Sprint Cup Series: Sprint Unlimited

    Saturday at 8:00 pm on FOX50

  • Nascar Sprint Cup Series: Daytona 500 Qualifying

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on FOX50

  • CBB: UNC vs. Pittsburgh

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • PGA: AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am

    Sunday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • CBB: Oregon at Cal

    Tonight at 9:00 on 99.9 The Fan

  • CBB: NC State vs. Wake Forest

    Saturday at 12:00 pm on WRAL-FM

Men's College Basketball
6:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 北京时间7:00 MST9:00 EST
6:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 北京时间7:00 MST9:00 EST
ATP Scoreboard
Thursday, Feb. 11
Memphis Open (ATP)
World Tennis Tournament (ATP)
Second Round
J. Chardy5 2    
N. Mahut7 6    
(8) V. Troicki77 6    
H. Chung65 2    
(6) R. Bautista A4 6 4   
J. Vesely6 2 3   
M. Baghdatis 
M. Klizan 
(3) G. Simon 
A. Zverev 
Argentina Open (ATP)
WTA Scoreboard
Thursday, Feb. 11
St. Petersburg Ladies (WTA)
Second Round
E. Vesnina6 3 2   
K. Kozlova2 6 6   
(9) M. Niculescu6 1 3   
T. Babos4 6 6   
D. Kasatkina6 6    
L. Siegemund3 4    
(1) B. Bencic77 6    
A. Beck63 3    
(3) C. Wozniacki 
D. Cibulkova 
(5) A. Pavlyuchen 
C. Witthoeft 
Taiwan Open (WTA)
Second Round
(2) M. Doi6 6    
M. Linette2 3    
(1) V. Williams6 6    
U. Radwanska4 2    
(6) S. Hsieh6 4 6   
M. Minella4 6 2   
(2) M. Doi 
(7) K. Nara 
(3) Y. Putintseva 
S. Voegele