North Carolina

FH: Four Tar Heels Earn All-America honors

Posted November 20, 2012

North Carolina Logo

— North Carolina senior Kelsey Kolojejchick became the first player in Carolina field hockey program history to earn first-team All-America honors four times when the 2012 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-America teams were announced on Tuesday. Kolojejchick was joined on the first team by classmate Caitlin Van Sickle and sophomore Charlotte Craddock. Tar Heel freshman Emily Wold was named to the third team.

“Being our first four-time All-American is great honor for Kelsey and speaks to the high level of play she has maintained throughout her career,” UNC coach Karen Shelton said. “She was outstanding as a freshman, but instead of being content with that she continued work hard and improve each year. She’s had a wonderful career in a UNC uniform.”

Kolojejchick, a midfielder from Larksville, Pa., finishes her Carolina career ranked third in career points, third in career assists and fourth in career goals in UNC history. As a senior, she led the nation in assists with 23.

Van Sickle, a back from Wilmington, Del., is the fifth player in school history to earn first-team honors on three occasions. “Caitlin has been an anchor on a defense that has been stellar throughout her career,” Shelton said. “She has done a great job this season as our captain, and has been a leader on and off the field throughout her career.”

Kolojejchick and Van Sickle started in the NCAA championship game all four years at UNC, winning a national title as freshmen. They were part of Atlantic Coast Conference championships in 2011 and 2012, and over their four years the Tar Heels went 88-9. Along with classmate Jaclyn Gaudioso Radvany, they now hold the program record for games played with 97.

Craddock and Wold both earned All-America honors for the first time. Craddock, a forward from Wolverhampton, England, becomes the 33rd player in school history to earn first-team All-America honors. Including her, 33 Tar Heels have earned first-team honors on 55 occasions. She led UNC in goals this season with 26 and ranked fourth in the NCAA in goals per game (1.37) and fifth in points per game (3.05).

Wold, a midfielder from Freehold, N.J., started all 20 games in which she appeared and was named ACC Freshman of the Year.

UNC finished the 2012 season 23-2, reaching the final game for the fourth year in a row and the fifth time in the past six seasons.

Other ACC players named to the three All-America teams were: Duke’s Paula Heimbach (third); Maryland’s Megan Frazer (first), Harriet Tibble (second) and Jill Witmer (second); Virginia’s Paige Selenski (first), Michelle Vittese (first) and Elly Buckley (second); and Wake Forest’s Anna Kozniuk (third).


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • HighSchoolOT Live: Kickoff special

    Tonight at 7:00 on WRAL-TV

  • Football Friday

    Tonight at 11:35 on WRAL-TV

  • Premier League Soccer: Stoke City vs. Arsenal

    Tomorrow at 12:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series #3: Bristol

    Tomorrow at 7:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • P&G Gymnastics Championships

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • AVP Pro Beach Volleyball: Manhattan Beach

    Sunday at 2:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Golf: Solheim Cup

    Sunday at 4:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Premier League Soccer : Manchester United vs. Leicester

    Saturday, Aug. 26 at 12:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASCAR Bass Pro Shop Night Race at Bristol

    Tomorrow at 6:30 pm on 95.7 The Ticket

  • NFL Football Indianapolis Colts at Dallas Cowboys

    Tomorrow at 7:30 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • Major League Baseball Washington Nationals at Houston Astros

    Wednesday at 7:30 pm on 95.7 The Ticket

Minor League Baseball
International League
Durham 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Lehigh Valley 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Indianapolis 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Rochester 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Toledo 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Gwinnett 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Pawtucket 4:15 PT5:15 MT6:15 CT7:15 ET12:15 GMT
Solheim Cup (LPGA)
USA: 0 | Europe: 0
Foursomes - Day 1
Reid / Hull1 up
Kerr / Thompsonafter 5
Nordqvist / Hall1 up
Creamer / Ernstafter 4
Kang / Salas1 up
Ciganda / Massonafter 4
Lewis / Piller1 up
Icher / Matthewafter 3
View Full Leaderboard
Paul Lawrie (EURO)
Leader in BOLD/CAPS
Jacquelin v ROCK182 up
Bjerregaard v FRITSCH172 and 1
WU v Karlberg173 and 1
PAISLEY v Kimsey164 and 2
Campillo v DONALDSON154 and 3
WALL v Porteous181 up
Molinari v CHESTERS172 and 1
OTAEGUI v Bertasio163 and 2
ILONEN v Siem101 up
Detry v Elvira9AS
DUNNE v Fahrbring82 up
CANIZARES v Lawrie83 up
Southgate v CARLSSON73 up
Fraser v KIEFFER51 up
LEWIS v Lombard63 up
KNAPPE v Dubuisson42 up
View Full Leaderboard
Fiji Intl (EURO)
1tS. Hend-718
1tJ. Norris-718
1tG. Green-718
1tD. Pearce-718
5tA. Bland-518
5tD. McKenzie-518
5tP. Wilson-518
8tH. Bateman-418
8tS. Leaney-418
8tC. Gaunt-418
View Full Leaderboard
ATP Scoreboard
Friday, Aug. 18
Western & Southern Open (ATP/WTA)
Third Round
N. Kyrgios 
I. Karlovic 
(1) R. Nadal 
A. Ramos-Vino 
(7) G. Dimitrov 
Y. Sugita 
(14) J. Isner 
J. Donaldson 
(3) D. Thiem 
D. Ferrer 
WTA Scoreboard
Friday, Aug. 18
Western & Southern Open (ATP/WTA)
Third Round
(1) K. Pliskova 
C. Giorgi 
(5) E. Svitolina 
J. Goerges 
S. Stephens 
E. Makarova 
(4) G. Muguruza 
(8) S. Kuznetsova 
(2) S. Halep 
(7) J. Konta