more stats

PGA - OHL Classic at Mayakoba Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, November 14th through Sunday, November 17th
SITE: El Camaleon Golf Club, Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
COURSE ARCHITECT: Greg Norman (2006)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,987
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 438 Yds10 - Par 3 200 Yds
2 - Par 4 428 Yds11 - Par 4 360 Yds
3 - Par 4 389 Yds12 - Par 4 451 Yds
4 - Par 3 116 Yds13 - Par 5 532 Yds
5 - Par 5 554 Yds14 - Par 4 452 Yds
6 - Par 4 416 Yds15 - Par 3 155 Yds
7 - Par 5 554 Yds16 - Par 4 485 Yds
8 - Par 3 151 Yds17 - Par 4 386 Yds
9 - Par 4 462 Yds18 - Par 4 458 Yds
36 3,508 Yds35 3,479 Yds
Annual:  7th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 2-5 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  John Huh
Runner-Up:  Robert Allenby
Tournament Record:  264 (Brian Gay, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Fred Funk, 2007; Brian Gay, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Mark Wilson, Kevin Na, 2009; Joe Durant, 2010)
Course Record:  61 (Roland Thatcher, 2008)
Total Purse:  $6,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,080,000; 2nd Place - $648,000; 3rd Place - $408,000
2012 Finish
John Huh *271Dicky Pride274
Robert Allenby271Chris Stroud274
Matt Every273Daniel Summerhays274
Colt Knost273Three players at276
Alejandro Canizares274

* - Won in Playoff

Past OHL Classic at Mayakoba Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012*John Huh (271) -- Robert Allenby
2011*Johnson Wagner (267) -- Spencer Levin
2010Cameron Beckman (269) -- Joe Durant, Brian Stuard
2009Mark Wilson (267) -- J.J. Henry
2008Brian Gay (264) -- Steve Marino
2007*Fred Funk (266) -- Jose Coceres

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Mayakoba Golf Classic (2007-12).

Top Contenders in the Field
John Huh---------------Won
Robert Allenby---------------2nd
J.J. Henry------2ndT-48T-19T-9
Briny BairdT-63T-12T-6T-4T-5T-12
Charles Howell III------T-38T-20T-13T-16
Kevin StadlerT-13T-48T-20T-9T-74T-16
Johnson Wagner------------WonT-30
Spencer Levin------mcT-282ndT-34
Fred FunkWonT-63------mcT-49
Brian GayT-41WonT-20---T-5T-55
Jerry KellyT-26---T-6T-28T-50T-60
Cameron Beckman7thT-42T-15Won12thT-63
Tim Clark------------------
Ryan Moore------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Tim Clark
Darkhorse - Briny Baird
Last Week's Pick to Win (Webb Simpson) - Finished tied for 7th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Charles Howell III) - Finished tied for 27th
NOTES:The PGA Tour heads to Mexico this week for the OHL Classic at
Mayakoba. Ryan Moore is the only player ranked in the top 40 of the world playing this week. Moore, ranked 31st, won three weeks ago at the CIMB Classic in Malaysia. The purse increased $2.3 million from last year to $6 million, with the winner taking home $1,080,000. This event was previously held in February.

Greg Norman designed the course for this week's tournament, El Camaleon Golf Club, which opened for play in 2006. The course bends through mangrove jungles, limestone canals and oceanfront stretches of sand. There is a massive underground cavern in the heart of the opening fairway. The course is located 35 minutes from downtown Cancun on the Riviera Maya.

Last year, rookie John Huh parred eight straight playoff holes to defeat Robert Allenby. Huh fired an 8-under 63 in the final round to get into the clubhouse at 13-under-par 271. Allenby, who hasn't won on the PGA Tour since the 2001 Pennsylvania Classic, was five groups behind Huh and in the lead at 15-under. However, he faltered to a double bogey on the par-4 18th to close out a 6-under 65. The closing double bogey left Allenby tied for the lead with Huh. In the playoff, Huh and Allenby matched pars on the first seven holes. On the eighth, Allenby blinked. He tripped to a bogey, while Huh got up-and-down for his par to secure his first PGA Tour title.

In 2011, Johnson Wagner parred the first playoff hole to defeat Spencer Levin. Wagner fired rounds of 69-66-65-67 to end at 17-under-par 267. He was joined there by Levin, who fired a 6-under 65 in the final round. The duo returned to the 18th hole for the playoff, and Wagner walked off with his second PGA Tour title thanks to a 2-putt par.

Cameron Beckman posted a 4-under 67 in the final round to come from behind and win in 2010. Beckman finished the championship at 15-under 269 and won the title by two strokes over Brian Stuard and Joe Durant, who led after each of the first three rounds, but struggled to a 1-over 72 on the final day. The win was Beckman's third on the PGA Tour after the 2001 Southern Farm Bureau Classic and the 2008 Open. Beckman was the only player in the field to shoot four rounds in the 60s.

In 2008, after going 292 career starts without a win, Brian Gay picked up his first PGA Tour victory. Gay completed the tournament at 16-under-par 264, which was a new record. The previous 72-hole record of 266 was set in 2007 by Fred Funk and Jose Coceres.

The 50-year-old Funk birdied the second playoff hole to defeat Coceres in 2007. Funk finished the event at 14-under-par 266 and held at least a share of the lead following every round. The victory was his eighth PGA Tour win and first since the 2005 Players Championship.

With the win in 2007, Funk became the second player to win a PGA Tour event after winning a Champions Tour event. Craig Stadler was the first to accomplish the feat. Funk also joined a rare club of players who have won PGA Tour events in their 50s. Six players have posted wins in their 50s - Sam Snead, Art Wall, Jim Barnes, John Barnum, Stadler and Funk.

The 2007 tournament was the first PGA Tour event held in Mexico. In fact, it was the first official event conducted by the PGA Tour held outside of the United States and Canada.

Next week, the PGA Tour travels to Australia for the ISPS HANDA World Cup of Golf at Royal Melbourne, where the United States captured the title in 2011.

11/13 14:12:45 ET

As of November 13, 2013, at 02:12 PM ET

Other Stories

PGA Golfers with Triangle Ties

PGA Triangle golfers

Search Local Courses

Golf Leaderboard

Crowne Plaza Invt. at Colonial
May 21 - May 24, 2015
Friday's second round
As of May 22, 2015, at 05:56 PM ET
Player Score Hole
Kevin Na -10 F
Ian Poulter -8 F
George McNeill -6 F
Boo Weekley -6 16
Marc Leishman -5 F
Charley Hoffman -5 F
Danny Lee -5 F
Adam Hadwin -5 F
Vijay Singh -5 17
Brian Harman -5 16
  • PGA: Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial

    Tomorrow at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASL: RailHawks at Ft. Lauderdale

    Tomorrow at 7:30 pm on WRAL-2

  • PGA: Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial

    Sunday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASCAR: Coca-Cola 600

    Sunday at 6:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • ACC: NC State vs. Miami

    Tonight at 7:00 on 99.9 The Fan

  • MiLB: Durham Bulls at Scranton Wilkes-Barre Railriders

    Tomorrow at 6:50 pm on Buzz Sports Radio

  • ACC: NC State vs. Virginia

    Tomorrow at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • ACC Baseball Tournament Championship

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

7:05pm Tonight
7:05pm Tonight
7:05pm Tonight
7:05pm Tonight
7:07pm Tonight
7:08pm Tonight
7:10pm Tonight
7:10pm Tonight
7:10pm Tonight
7:10pm Tonight
7:35pm Tonight
8:10pm Tonight
8:10pm Tonight
8:10pm Tonight
9:40pm Tonight
10:10pm Tonight
8:30pm Tonight
8:00pm Tonight
7:05pm Tonight