Montoyo, staff back with Durham Bulls in '13

Posted January 24, 2013

— The Durham Bulls announced Thursday that manager Charlie Montoyo, pitching coach Neil Allen, hitting coach Dave Myers and athletic trainer Mike Sandoval will remain with the team in 2013. 

Montoyo, 48, has managed the Bulls for six seasons and has tallied a 471-392 overall record. Durham has five division titles, a Governors' Cup Championship and Triple-A National Title under Montoyo. 

Just 29 victories short of 500 in his tenure as Durham’s skipper, the native Puerto Rican trails only International League Hall of Famer Bill Evers (613) in career wins as Bulls manager.

A veteran of 11 Major League seasons during his own pitching career, Allen returns to the Bulls for his third campaign. The 54-year-old Kansas native has guided an impressive crop of Durham hurlers, including Matt Moore, Alex Cobb and Chris Archer, to their Tampa Bay Rays debuts.

Myers, 52, begins his fifth season presiding over the Bulls offense. Prior to becoming a part of the Rays organization, the Temple University alum spent 26 seasons in the Mariners system, including four years (2001-04) as third base and infield coach at the Major League level.

Sandoval rejoins the Bulls for his second campaign after spending 25 years in the Pittsburgh Pirates system, including 10 seasons as assistant athletic trainer with the major league club.

The Durham Bulls begin the 2013 International League season on the road before returning to the Durham Bulls Athletic Park on April 8th for their home opener against the Gwinnett Braves.


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • US Olympic Trials: Diving

    Today at 4:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASCAR: Toyota Save Mart 350 from Sonoma

    Today at 2:00 pm on 1550 The Ticket

  • MLB: LA Dodgers at Pittsburgh

    Tonight at 8:00 on 99.9 The Fan

ATP Scoreboard
Saturday, Jun. 25
(2) P. Cuevas65 5    
(6) S. Johnson77 7    
WTA Scoreboard
Saturday, Jun. 25
(10) K. Pliskova5 3    
(12) D. Cibulkova7 6