Jeff Gravley

My ballot and the voting process for ACC postseason awards

Posted March 10, 2014

T.J. Warren (24) takes off for a dunk. NC State defeated Boston College 78-68 on March 9, 2014 at the PNC Arena in Raleigh, North Carolina. Photo by: Jerome Carpenter

It has been an interesting race for the ACC Player of the Year award and my three finalists call the Triangle home. TJ Warren, Jabari Parker and Marcus Paige have put together a season to remember and performances that will long live in the archives of ACC basketball.  

For the record, my vote went to NC State's TJ Warren by a whisker over Duke's Jabari Parker. 

Night in and night out Warren faced the opponents top defender and help defense. He still led the league in scoring including season ending point totals of 41 and 42 points. Looking at the ACC game stats only, Warren with a 25.5 scoring average, scored 100 more points than the 2nd leading scorer, Olivier Hanlan of Boston College. He also was tops in field goal percentage at 53% and led the league in steals with 32. Oh, TJ missed the Maryland game due to an injury. Using only conference game stats, Parker was fourth in scoring (17.6 PPG) and he led the ACC in rebounding (9.8). Paige seventh in scoring (16.2) and third in assists (4.8). 

My selection process mixture includes looking at conference only stats. Are you in multiple statistical columns? I also consider the importance to your team and how successful your team is. There is also the eye test.

Different people use different criteria when it comes to voting for post season accolades and that's the beauty of the vote. It's also a reason why the panel needs to be diverse in their selection process and where they are located in the ACC's geographic footprint.

To vote for the ACC awards and recognition, media members have to pay 10 dollars to join the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Currently there are 113 members and the strongest contingent of voters reside in North Carolina. There are 52 members of ACSMA in our state. Virginia is next with 20 with Florida the only other state reaching double digits in membership with 10. What about the newcomers? A combined 9 ACSMA members are in the home states of Syracuse, Pittsburgh and Notre Dame. 

Now I certainly know media members vote for players outside of the school or schools they cover but the membership numbers for ACSMA don't reflect a geographically balanced group.

Should we continue to use the current format? Should the ACC form a panel of voters like the AP poll and Heisman Trophy? This year 77 of the 113 eligible ACSMA members voted.

The coaches vote is an entirely different beast. I know we in the media make some bonehead choices but which coach in the ACC didn't vote TJ Warren 1st team all-conference this year?

Here is how my vote went.

All-ACC First Team: TJ Warren, Jabari Parker, Marcus Paige, KJ McDaniels, CJ Fair

All-ACC Second Team: Rodney Hood, Lamar Patterson, Malcolm Brogdon, Tyler Ennis, James Michael McAdoo

All-ACC Third Team: Eric Atkins, Olivier Hanlan, Rion Brown, Joe Harris, Talib Zanna

Player of the Year: TJ Warren

Coach of the Year: Tony Bennett

Rookie of the Year: Jabari Parker

Defensive Player of the Year: KJ McDaniels

Sixth Man: Ian Miller

Most Improved: Marcus Paige




Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • Eq Videri Mar 12, 2014
    user avatar

    Great picks, Jeff. Much smarter than N&O's.

  • vt94hokies Mar 11, 2014

    I agree with Crossover. THE coach that didn't vote for TJ for 1st team, must have his head in the sand. Dismal!

  • vt94hokies Mar 11, 2014

    Hanlan should have been on the 2nd team vs McAdoo. Consistency is the key word in my decision.

  • onemanwolfpackv1 Mar 11, 2014

    Really CJ Fair over Malcolm Brogdon? Good picks for the rest though.

  • dave437 Mar 11, 2014

    so, apparently, you only have to show up and actually give effort in half your team's games, and still get voted 2nd-team all-ACC by Jeff Gravley...

  • jmcdow2792 Mar 11, 2014

    I agree on your ballet. I would have given Hanlan consideration for second team but cannot argue with your choices. I did not realize the voting was so shaky. That process needs some improvement.

  • CrossOver Mar 11, 2014

    Who's the dumb "A" Coach that didn't vote for TJ Warren on the first team! SMH

  • Jeanne Gunn Mar 10, 2014
    user avatar

    Like your picks, Jeff. Also glad Warren finished the season so strong, so voters on the fence would choose TJ.

  • TTCP Mar 10, 2014

    paige 2nd(Ennis or Hood 1st)
    Agree Most Improved.
    jmm 3rd.
    Agree Parker & Warren.

  • Premier League Soccer: Crystal Palace vs. Burnley

    Saturday at 12:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NHL Playoffs: Teams TBD

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NHL Playoffs: Teams TBD

    Saturday at 8:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NBA Basketball Playoffs Golden State Warriors at Portland Trailblazers

    Tonight at 9:30 on 99.9 The Fan

  • NFL Draft Coverage

    Thursday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • NFL Draft Coverage

    Friday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • NHL Hockey Playoffs

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

NBA Scoreboard
Milwaukee 4:00 PT5:00 MT6:00 CT7:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 MST6:00 EST3:00 UAE (+1)01:0019:00 ET6:00 CTNaN:�
Washington 5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)02:0020:00 ET7:00 CTNaN:�
Golden State 7:30 PT8:30 MT9:30 CT10:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 MST9:30 EST6:30 UAE (+1)04:3022:30 ET9:30 CTNaN:�
NHL Scoreboard
Wednesday, Apr 26
Nashville 5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)20:00 ETNaN:� BRT
St. Louis 
Edmonton 7:30 PT8:30 MT9:30 CT10:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 MST9:30 EST6:30 UAE (+1)22:30 ETNaN:� BRT
MLB Scoreboard
American League
Tampa Bay 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 MST6:05 EST6:35 VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 CT
Minnesota 5:05 PT6:05 MT7:05 CT8:05 ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 MST7:05 EST7:35 VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 CT
Kansas City 5:10 PT6:10 MT7:10 CT8:10 ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 MST7:10 EST7:40 VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 CT
Chi White Sox 
Toronto 7:07 PT8:07 MT9:07 CT10:07 ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 MST9:07 EST9:37 VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 CT
LA Angels 
National League
Chi Cubs 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 MST6:05 EST6:35 VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 CT
Cincinnati 4:40 PT5:40 MT6:40 CT7:40 ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 MST6:40 EST7:10 VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 CT
Washington 5:40 PT6:40 MT7:40 CT8:40 ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 MST7:40 EST8:10 VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 CT
San Diego 6:40 PT7:40 MT8:40 CT9:40 ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 MST8:40 EST9:10 VEN5:40 UAE (+1)8:40 CT
LA Dodgers 7:15 PT8:15 MT9:15 CT10:15 ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 MST9:15 EST9:45 VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 CT
San Francisco 
1C. Kerr-20F
2tI. Chun-17F
2tS. Jang-17F
2tL. Ko-17F
5A. Sharp-16F
6S. Ryu-15F
7tA. Jutanugarn-14F
7tS. Lewis-14F
9tC. Clanton-13F
9tD. Kang-13F
View Full Leaderboard
Shenzhen Intl (EURO)
1B. Wiesberger - z-16F
2T. Fleetwood - y-16F
3tG. Bourdy-15F
3tR. Fisher-15F
5tD. Frittelli-14F
5tD. Lipsky-14F
5tF. Zanotti-14F
8tT. Jaidee-13F
8tA. Levy-13F
8tT. Olesen-13F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
ATP Scoreboard
Monday, Apr. 24
Barcelona Open (ATP)
First Round
K. Edmund6 6    
J. Chardy3 4    
A. Seppi6 6    
M. Ymer4 3    
Y. Sugita6 6    
T. Robredo4 3    
D. Evans64 6 0   
T. Monteiro77 2 3   
G. Garcia-Lop2     
A. Montanes3     
M. Granollers 
M. Jaziri 
R. Albot 
C. Ruud 
N. Almagro 
S. Diez 
K. Anderson 
C. Berlocq 
Hungarian Open (ATP)
First Round
S. Darcis6 2 2   
D. Dzumhur3 6 6   
D. Medvedev0 5    
L. Djere6 5    
(6) P. Lorenzi6 5    
M. Kukushkin4 4    
M. Klizan4     
M. Marterer2     
(7) V. Troicki 
E. Donskoy 
WTA Scoreboard
Monday, Apr. 24
Istanbul Cup (WTA)
First Round
(8) A. Petkovic 
D. Yastremska 
D. Kovinic 
M. Sakkari