Soccer

NC Courage release debut NWSL schedule

Posted March 1

NC Courage logo

— Wednesday, the North Carolina Courage released the schedule for their debut 2017 season in the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL).

The season kicks off on April 15 with a trip to the Washington Spirit. The Courage’s home opener is the following Saturday, April 22 at WakeMed Soccer Park against the Portland Thorns. The Thorns feature three former North Carolina Tar Heels standouts: Tobin Heath, Meghan Klingenberg and Allie Long. All three also feature with the U.S. Women’s National Team, along with Thorns teammate Lindsey Horan.

The Courage will play 12 home games this year, all at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary. Their overall 24-match schedule concludes at home on September 30 against the Orlando Pride. The Courage will play every NWSL opponent three times this year except the Thorns, Houston Dash, FC Kansas City, which the Courage will face twice each. The NWSL playoffs will commence after the 2017 regular season concludes—complete playoff details will be announced at a later date.

"Schedule release is always full of expectation and hope,” said NC Courage manager Paul Riley in a statement. “There are so many quality teams in the league, and every game is a battle. Fans love the competitive element of the league, and I'm sure throughout the country they are buzzing with anticipation to get the 2017 season rolling."

The Courage and the North Carolina FC (formerly the Carolina RailHawks) of the North American Soccer League (NASL), both owned by Steve Malik, will play at home on the same weekend twice this year: June 3 and 4, and September 30 and October 1.

NC Courage 2017 NWSL Schedule (all times EST)

  • @ Washington Spirit - Saturday, April 15, 3:00 p.m.
  • Portland Thorns - Saturday, April 22, 7:30 p.m.
  • Orlando Pride - Saturday, April 29, 4:00 p.m.
  • @ Boston Breakers - Sunday, May 7, 6:00 p.m.
  • @ Orlando Pride - Sunday, May 14, 5:00 p.m.
  • Chicago Red Stars - Sunday, May 21, 4:00 p.m.
  • Sky Blue FC - Wednesday, May 24, 7:30 p.m.
  • @ Chicago Red Stars - Saturday, May 27, 4:00 p.m.
  • FC Kansas City - Saturday, June 3, 4:00 p.m.
  • Boston Breakers - Saturday, June 17, 7:30 p.m.
  • @ Boston Breakers - Saturday, June 24, 4:00 p.m.
  • Sky Blue FC - Saturday, July 1, 4:00 p.m.
  • Seattle Reign - Saturday, July 8, 4:00 p.m.
  • @ Portland Thorns - Saturday, July 15, 4:00 p.m.
  • @ FC Kansas City - Saturday, July 22, 4:00 p.m.
  • Seattle Reign - Saturday, August 5, 4:00 p.m.
  • @ Seattle Reign - Sunday, August 13, 9:00 p.m.
  • Washington Spirit - Saturday, August 19, 4:00 p.m.
  • @ Houston Dash - Sunday, August 27, 8:00 p.m.
  • @ Washington Spirit - Wednesday, August 30, 7:30 p.m.
  • @ Chicago Red Stars - Sunday, September 3, 6:00 p.m.
  • Houston Dash - Saturday, September 9, 7:30 p.m.
  • @ Sky Blue FC - Sunday, September 24, 6:00 p.m.
  • Orlando Pride - Saturday, September 30, 7:30 p.m.
Comments

Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • FA Cup Final: Arsenal v. Chelsea

    Today at 12:00 pm on FOX50

  • Senior PGA Championship

    Today at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Tennis: French Open

    Tomorrow at 12:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Senior PGA Championship

    Tomorrow at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Soccer: North Carolina FC @ Jacksonville

    Tomorrow at 4:00 pm on WRAL-2

  • NASCAR: Coca-Cola 600

    Tomorrow at 6:00 pm on FOX50

  • Senior PGA Championship

    Monday at 12:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Stanley Cup: Nashville at Pittsburgh

    Monday at 8:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Indianapolis 500

    Tomorrow at 11:00 am on 99.9 The Fan

  • NASCAR: Coca-Cola 600

    Tomorrow at 6:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • MLB: Washington at San Francisco

    Monday at 3:30 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • Stanley Cup: Nashville at Pittsburgh

    Monday at 8:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

NBA Scoreboard
Thursday, Jun 1
Cleveland 6:00 PT7:00 MT8:00 CT9:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 6:00 MST8:00 EST5:00 UAE (+1)03:0021:00 ET8:00 CTNaN:�
Golden State 
NHL Scoreboard
Monday, May 29
Nashville 5:00 PT6:00 MT7:00 CT8:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 MST7:00 EST4:00 UAE (+1)20:00 ETNaN:� BRT
Pittsburgh 
Minor League Baseball
International League
Durham 3:05 PT4:05 MT5:05 CT6:05 ET11:05 GMT
Pawtucket 
Syracuse 3:05 PT4:05 MT5:05 CT6:05 ET11:05 GMT
Gwinnett 
Louisville 3:35 PT4:35 MT5:35 CT6:35 ET11:35 GMT
Lehigh Valley 
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Toledo 
Indianapolis 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Rochester 
Buffalo 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Charlotte 
Norfolk 4:15 PT5:15 MT6:15 CT7:15 ET12:15 GMT
Columbus 
ATP Scoreboard
Friday, May 26
Geneva Open (ATP)
Semifinals
(2) K. Nishikori4 6 3   
M. Zverev6 3 6   
(1) S. Wawrinka6 77    
A. Kuznetsov3 64    
 
Open Parc Lyon (ATP)
Semifinals
(2) J. Tsonga6 3 6   
N. Basilashvi2 6 1   
(1) M. Raonic65 62    
(3) T. Berdych77 77    
 
WTA Scoreboard
Friday, May 26
Internationaux Strasbourg (WTA)
Semifinals
(5) C. Garcia4 2    
(7) D. Gavrilova6 6    
(6) S. Stosur77 6    
(8) S. Peng60 4    
 
Nurnberger Versicherungsc (WTA)
Semifinals
(1) K. Bertens6 0    
M. Doi2 1    
B. Krejcikova6 4 6   
S. Cirstea4 6 0