About that Scott Wood free throw
TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 11:14 a.m.
I never said I never do that. I said I'm not doing that NOW. And I wasn't. I wanted to know what happened exactly. I even said it all worked out the same, because either way, Scott only made one of two free throws.
TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 11:13 a.m.
I now think the ref handled this correctly. He threw the ball to Scott prematurely (while the Clemson player was walking toward the lane.)
Hans Jan 22, 11:12 a.m.
LOL! Nope, you'd never do that!
Wolfpackindahizzy4shizzy Jan 22, 11:10 a.m.
^^^Correct, he gets it, takes one dribble and shoots... NO wasted motion.
it was clearly the refs fault, but we shouldn't wait around for an apology from the league.... for, we know how that works.
TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 10:58 a.m.
Well, he did throw him the ball. Scott doesn't hold the ball long on free throws. A dude like that is focused on one thing only -- the rim. There's no way to know for sure if he even noticed the ref.
SportznutV2.0 Jan 22, 10:55 a.m.
Scott Wood shot with the ref a few feet in front of him asking for the ball
Scott Wood really walks on thin ice with refs...he gives a lot of dirty looks and stares them down after almost every foul on him...I think that he will pick up a T this year probably at the worst time for the Pack
TruthisKnown Jan 22, 8:03 a.m.
Waaaaaa! Wow....wolfers crying over things that make no difference now! Kind of like TBK stating that Bilas cost state kollege the loss to MD...ROFLMAO!!!!
TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 7:20 a.m.
I just watched it on ESPN3.com and you're right. The Clemson player was walking toward the lane and was inside the 3-pt arc when the ref prematurely threw Wood the ball. He immediately tried to retrieve it so the Clemson player could get in place when Scott shot that free throw.
jmcdow2792 Jan 22, 6:16 a.m.
If it happens Saturday we will have all the resources of ESPN to answer the question for us. Good discussion, I did not know what happened or why.
SportznutV2.0 Jan 21, 10:20 p.m.
Just rewatched it on watchespn - the referee gave wood the ball but hadn't cleared the lane yet - wood received the ball and shot all in one motion - basically shooting over the refs head - the other ref stepped in and said something to wood - I am guessing wood was trying to get Clemson on a violation
I don't know the rule off hand but I think the ref gives a signal to the player - usually holding up 1 and 1 or 2 shots AFTER he gives the player the ball and clears the lane indicating it is ok to shoot - wood was obviously taking a quick shot -not sure why -
Please sign in to post.
Football Friday with Tom Suiter
Tomorrow at 11:35 pm on WRAL-TV
US Open Tennis: Men’s & Women’s Third Round
Saturday at 11:00 am on WRAL-TV
ACC Football Kickoff Show
Saturday at 7:00 pm on WRAL-TV
US Open Tennis: Men’s Third Round & Women’s Fourth Round
Sunday at 11:00 am on WRAL-TV
NFL: Panthers at Pittsburgh
Tomorrow at 7:30 pm on 99.9 The Fan
CFB: NC State vs Georgia Southern
Saturday at 12:30 pm on WRAL-FM
HSFB: Southern Durham at Hillside
Saturday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan
High School Wrap Up Show
Sunday at 9:00 am on 99.9 The Fan
- NCAA FB
— Thu 7:03 a.m.
— Wed 10:38 p.m.
— Wed 10:37 p.m.
— Wed 10:09 p.m.
— Wed 10:07 p.m.
— Wed 10:06 p.m.
— Wed 10:03 p.m.
— Wed 9:30 p.m.
— Wed 9:27 p.m.
— Wed 8:50 p.m.
— Wed 8:43 p.m.
— Wed 8:25 p.m.
— Wed 8:23 p.m.
— Wed 8:19 p.m.
— Wed 8:10 p.m.
— Wed 7:20 p.m.
— Wed 7:11 p.m.
— Wed 7:06 p.m.
— Wed 6:24 p.m.