About that Scott Wood free throw

Return to Forum

Please to add a comment.

Oldest First
  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 11:14 a.m.
    Sports Legend

    I'm just curious about something. I'm not complaining about the officiating. But I have a... View More

    LOL! Nope, you'd never do that!

    — Posted by Hans

    I never said I never do that. I said I'm not doing that NOW. And I wasn't. I wanted to know what happened exactly. I even said it all worked out the same, because either way, Scott only made one of two free throws.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 11:13 a.m.
    Sports Legend

    ^^^Correct, he gets it, takes one dribble and shoots... NO wasted motion.

    it was clearly the refs... View More

    — Posted by Wolfpackindahizzy4shizzy

    I now think the ref handled this correctly. He threw the ball to Scott prematurely (while the Clemson player was walking toward the lane.)

  • Hans Jan 22, 11:12 a.m.
    Sports Legend

    I'm just curious about something. I'm not complaining about the officiating. But I have a... View More

    LOL! Nope, you'd never do that!

  • Wolfpackindahizzy4shizzy Jan 22, 11:10 a.m.
    Sports Legend

    ^^^Correct, he gets it, takes one dribble and shoots... NO wasted motion.

    it was clearly the refs fault, but we shouldn't wait around for an apology from the league.... for, we know how that works.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 10:58 a.m.
    Sports Legend

    And I think Gott did have something to say about it.

    I wish I had not deleted the game just so I... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Well, I still have it and reviewed it in slow motion. I don't know how to post it on youtube, or... View More

    — Posted by ncstateforever

    I just watched it on ESPN3.com and you're right. The Clemson player was walking toward the lane... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Scott Wood shot with the ref a few feet in front of him asking for the ball

    Scott Wood really... View More

    — Posted by SportznutV2.0

    Well, he did throw him the ball. Scott doesn't hold the ball long on free throws. A dude like that is focused on one thing only -- the rim. There's no way to know for sure if he even noticed the ref.

  • SportznutV2.0 Jan 22, 10:55 a.m.
    Sports Legend

    And I think Gott did have something to say about it.

    I wish I had not deleted the game just so I... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Well, I still have it and reviewed it in slow motion. I don't know how to post it on youtube, or... View More

    — Posted by ncstateforever

    I just watched it on ESPN3.com and you're right. The Clemson player was walking toward the lane... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Scott Wood shot with the ref a few feet in front of him asking for the ball

    Scott Wood really walks on thin ice with refs...he gives a lot of dirty looks and stares them down after almost every foul on him...I think that he will pick up a T this year probably at the worst time for the Pack

  • TruthisKnown Jan 22, 8:03 a.m.
    All Star

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    It happens and when it does State is more often than not the recipient.

    Sincerely,
    tSwoff

    — Posted by Prof. Swahili

    Waaaaaa! Wow....wolfers crying over things that make no difference now! Kind of like TBK stating that Bilas cost state kollege the loss to MD...ROFLMAO!!!!

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 22, 7:20 a.m.
    Sports Legend

    And I think Gott did have something to say about it.

    I wish I had not deleted the game just so I... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Well, I still have it and reviewed it in slow motion. I don't know how to post it on youtube, or... View More

    — Posted by ncstateforever

    I just watched it on ESPN3.com and you're right. The Clemson player was walking toward the lane and was inside the 3-pt arc when the ref prematurely threw Wood the ball. He immediately tried to retrieve it so the Clemson player could get in place when Scott shot that free throw.

  • jmcdow2792 Jan 22, 6:16 a.m.
    All Star

    If it happens Saturday we will have all the resources of ESPN to answer the question for us. Good discussion, I did not know what happened or why.

  • SportznutV2.0 Jan 21, 10:20 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Just rewatched it on watchespn - the referee gave wood the ball but hadn't cleared the lane yet - wood received the ball and shot all in one motion - basically shooting over the refs head - the other ref stepped in and said something to wood - I am guessing wood was trying to get Clemson on a violation

    I don't know the rule off hand but I think the ref gives a signal to the player - usually holding up 1 and 1 or 2 shots AFTER he gives the player the ball and clears the lane indicating it is ok to shoot - wood was obviously taking a quick shot -not sure why -

  • hokies94vt@gmail.com Jan 21, 8:06 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    The official makes sure everyone is in place the lane/block. Even when there is a time-out, or he hears the buzzer, he can allow a player to enter the game.

    When they all get in place... Officials always ask this...are we all set? Then he states...no more movement. Then he gives the ball to the player shooting the ball. The official didn't do this to wreck Wood's shot.

    He erred in his protocol and delivery in this instance. He erred. Had this been a tighter game, it could have cost State a win, IMO. The great thing is that State had a small lead, and they had to foul. Wood sealed the deal.

  • Prof. Swahili Jan 21, 7:26 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    It happens and when it does State is more often than not the recipient.

    Sincerely,
    tSwoff

  • ncstateforever Jan 21, 6:59 p.m.
    All Star

    And I think Gott did have something to say about it.

    I wish I had not deleted the game just so I... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Well, I still have it and reviewed it in slow motion. I don't know how to post it on youtube, or I would post it. I rhink if you were to see it, you would change your mind.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 6:07 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    And I think Gott did have something to say about it.

    I wish I had not deleted the game just so I could review it one more time.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 6:07 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    The Clemson player walked up to his spot along the lane, the ref started to ask for the ball... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Good question TBK. I would say that the official erred in this one. A situation like this coul... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    I believe the rules say" After a reasonable amount of time the player should be given the... View More

    — Posted by ncstateforever

    He waited a reasonable amount of time. The ref did not rush to give him the ball. Three other Clemson players were there. This guy just took his time getting there.

    I don't think the refs did this to disrupt Wood. I don't think they did it as a make-up call. I think they just scr3wed up.

  • ncstateforever Jan 21, 5:58 p.m.
    All Star

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    The Clemson player walked up to his spot along the lane, the ref started to ask for the ball... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Good question TBK. I would say that the official erred in this one. A situation like this coul... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    I believe the rules say" After a reasonable amount of time the player should be given the ball." The ref made the mistake and called for the ball back. Wood didn't give him the ball back, he shot it. The ref walked down the center of the freethrow line asking for the ball. Gottfried didn't say anything because he knew the rule. This had nothing to do with a make up foul, breaking Wood's rhythm, or anything other than inforcing the rules. Go back and look at it.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 5:48 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    The Clemson player walked up to his spot along the lane, the ref started to ask for the ball... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Good question TBK. I would say that the official erred in this one. A situation like this coul... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    Exactly. It was almost like the ref didn't want to have to blow the whistle that could impact the outcome of the game.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 5:45 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    The Clemson player walked up to his spot along the lane, the ref started to ask for the ball... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Why do you keep talking about a done deal that you already said did not matter. You always find ... View More

    — Posted by TruthisKnown

    Because I want to know the rules. I don't like it when refs do things that I believe are outside the rules.

    That Clemson player's actions potentially caused a stoppage of action, and quite possibly resulted in disrupting Scott's rhythm. What happened was HIS fault, not Scott's.

    But if you want fairness, I think the refs missed a pretty obvious shove by Scott Wood (Scott did the shoving!) At the time, State was inbounding the ball and only ahead by one point. If the refs called that, Clemson possibly takes the lead (with free throws) with not a lot of time left. I do think it was a make-up call for a moving screen they didn't call on Booker, and a travel on Clemson that was not called just before that. So in fairness, the refs appear to just be "letting them play".

    But this free throw thing bothered me because it was such an odd play.

    And if you didn't know the answer, all you had to do was say so. Or just keep quiet.

  • hokies94vt@gmail.com Jan 21, 5:33 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    The Clemson player walked up to his spot along the lane, the ref started to ask for the ball... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Good question TBK. I would say that the official erred in this one. A situation like this could change a game. The official should have called out..are we all set? "No more movement." Then give the ball to the shooter.

  • TruthisKnown Jan 21, 5:33 p.m.
    All Star

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    The Clemson player walked up to his spot along the lane, the ref started to ask for the ball... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Why do you keep talking about a done deal that you already said did not matter. You always find fault with the refs.....and sometimes the COMMENTATOR....(Bust out LOL).....Sooooo funny. What a dolt TBK is! Go back to the silence you had for the last 5 days! Puh-leeze!

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 5:29 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block... View More

    — Posted by hokies94vt@gmail.com

    The Clemson player walked up to his spot along the lane, the ref started to ask for the ball back from Scott, and Scott shot (and made) the free throw.

    Why would the ref simply ask for the ball back rather than treat it like the lane violation that it was?

  • hokies94vt@gmail.com Jan 21, 5:21 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Once an official hands the ball to the shooter, no one is allowed to come to the block area/lane. Best I can tell in my time. This was the 1st time I've see this happen.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 4:56 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    I went back and looked at the play. The ref threw the ball to Wood as the Clemson player was... View More

    — Posted by ncstateforever

    I watched it again last night, too. The fourth Clemson player was not in view. Maybe he was on the way there, but the ref had already given the ball to Wood to shoot it. At that point, you're not allowed to enter the 3-point arc area (that is my understanding of it). The Clemson player was late getting out there. That is his fault, not the refs, and certainly not Wood's fault.

    I think the refs just scr3wed this one up.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 4:50 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    At least this didn't happen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6lvVhPSYfY&feature=youtube_gdata_p... View More

    — Posted by SportznutV2.0

    That's pretty bad. I guess the refs can do anything they want. I just thought once they hand... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    I think had Scott Wood missed the makeover FT and State lost by 1 then this would be an... View More

    — Posted by SportznutV2.0

    Actually, he did miss it. But he made the second (well, third) free throw. So no harm, no foul (unless someone wants to make the case that the handling of this disrupted his rhythm...) I don't care because we won the game.

    I'm mainly just trying to understand what the rule says about this.

  • Unc r Hypocrits Jan 21, 4:41 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Lots of coaches step out onto the court to talk to their players, even when the game-clock is running. This was during a dead-ball situation.

  • Wolfpackindahizzy4shizzy Jan 21, 4:39 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    I went back and looked at the play. The ref threw the ball to Wood as the Clemson player was... View More

    — Posted by ncstateforever

    Do you really think a ref is going to give ANY coach a T during a dead-ball situation? Really?

    — Posted by Unc r Hypocrits

    napoleon's in trouble if that's the case... he can't stand still to save his life.

  • Unc r Hypocrits Jan 21, 4:36 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    I went back and looked at the play. The ref threw the ball to Wood as the Clemson player was... View More

    — Posted by ncstateforever

    Do you really think a ref is going to give ANY coach a T during a dead-ball situation? Really?

  • ncstateforever Jan 21, 4:33 p.m.
    All Star

    I went back and looked at the play. The ref threw the ball to Wood as the Clemson player was walking from the 3 pt. area to line up on the line. So Wood hadn't received the ball when the Clemmson player was walking in the lane to line up. The ref saw the player walking in the area and aaked Wood to return the ball. Instead of giving the ball to the ref, Wood shot the ball. So the ref made the correct call. Actually the freethrow shouldn'thave counted because Coach Gottfried was on the court talking to Brown and should have been given a technical.

  • Unc r Hypocrits Jan 21, 4:30 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    I'm just curious about something. I'm not complaining about the officiating. But I have a... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    Even the announcers commented about it. But, I agree with sportznut, it all worked out.

  • SportznutV2.0 Jan 21, 4:24 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    At least this didn't happen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6lvVhPSYfY&feature=youtube_gdata_p... View More

    — Posted by SportznutV2.0

    That's pretty bad. I guess the refs can do anything they want. I just thought once they hand... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    I think had Scott Wood missed the makeover FT and State lost by 1 then this would be an extremely hot topic today. No harm no foul

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 3:51 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    At least this didn't happen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6lvVhPSYfY&feature=youtube_gdata_p... View More

    — Posted by SportznutV2.0

    That's pretty bad. I guess the refs can do anything they want. I just thought once they hand over the ball for a free throw attempt, then something the OPPOSING team does wrong should be considered a violation on their part. Scott made the free throw, so it wouldn't have mattered anyway.

    I'm thinking back when I played organized ball that I did something like this in the heat of the moment. I was subbing in and thought I was supposed to line up along the lane for the free throw. And I think I got called for the lane violation. But that was many, many years ago...

    Plus, the men's league I was in had better officiating than the ACC. So I tend to believe they got it right in the game where I did that. :)

  • PacknoPride Jan 21, 3:49 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    I'm emailing yow now, the ncaa, john swofford, the director or officals, governor martin, the president of the united states this is part of unc conspiracy. Come one WRAL. Why not a headline on this?

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 3:48 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Wow, Can you beleive the Super Coach Gott-fired did not speak out about that? Funny...maybe TBK... View More

    — Posted by TruthisKnown

    Scott was ready to shoot. The ref didn't take action until the last Clemson player got lined up along the lane (late). You could tell he wanted to stop the action and just prevent the free throw. So I understand why he would waive it off. But why? It's like he gave the Clemson player a break when it should have been a lane violation.

    I just felt like he penalized Scott for a Clemson mistake.

    In the end, we got one point. But I thought it was terribly mishandled.

  • SportznutV2.0 Jan 21, 3:47 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    At least this didn't happen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6lvVhPSYfY&feature=youtube_gdata_player

    I didn't watch nor do I know the rule, however, I have seen the ref take the ball back in many games. Last one I saw the ref gave the player the ball and another ref told him to take it back - could it be that Clemson was required to have a player in that spot and the ref missed it initially ?

  • Lux Libertas Jan 21, 3:47 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    The Swoff keeps working his magic, even during state college wins. LOL!!

  • TruthisKnown Jan 21, 3:40 p.m.
    All Star

    Wow, Can you beleive the Super Coach Gott-fired did not speak out about that? Funny...maybe TBK and Wolfgirl know more than he does.

    I would think if he felt he had handed the ball away too quickly he could stop things, I have seen refs take it back out of the shooters hands on several occassions.

  • Wolfpackindahizzy4shizzy Jan 21, 3:38 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    I'm just curious about something. I'm not complaining about the officiating. But I have a... View More

    — Posted by TruthBKnown Banned Again01

    correct, once the official passes the ball to the shooter NO ONE is allowed to move into the lane.

    the official dropped the ball on that play.

    I can't believe Gott never said anything about it... or, that the league didn't do the right thing, and own up to the mistake.

    actually... after further thought, I can believe it.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 3:36 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    Anyone have any thoughts on the free throw?

  • TruthisKnown Jan 21, 3:32 p.m.
    All Star

    That darn Bilas should have stepped in and allowed the foul shot. State lost the game over this and his other comments. LMAO!

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again01 Jan 21, 3:27 p.m.
    Sports Legend

    I'm just curious about something. I'm not complaining about the officiating. But I have a question about this...

    What was the deal on that free throw late in the game where Scott Wood was on the line to shoot two? Three Clemson players were lined up along the lane in their spots, the ref gave Scott the ball to shoot, and a fourth Clemson player comes waltzing into the area to his spot along the lane. The ref stops (or tries to stop) the free throw, but Scott shoots it and makes it anyway. The ref waived it off and made Scott shoot it again.

    What I'd like to know is, once the free throw shooter has the ball in hand, ready to shoot, NO PLAYER is (I believe) allowed to enter the three point arc, much less approach the lane. Shouldn't the ref have let Scott shoot that free throw, and then just treated it like a lane violation?

    Why should an "illegal" action on the part of a Clemson player have resulted in a point being taken off the board?

    In the end, it all worked out the same. Scott missed the re-take of that free throw, but made the second one, for one point. I'm just curious if this was a missed call? Or was it handled correctly? Seemed like they handled it incorrectly to me.

Oldest First
  • ACC: NC State at Georgia Tech

    Saturday at 12:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • SEC: Arkansas at Florida

    Saturday at 2:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • PGA: Waste Management Phoenix Open

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Big 10: Michigan at Michigan State

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • SEC: Kentucky at Missouri

    Tonight at 9:00 on 99.9 The Fan

  • NHL: Hurricanes vs. St. Louis

    Tomorrow at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • ACC: NC State at Georgia Tech

    Saturday at 12:00 pm on WRAL-FM

  • NHL: Carolina Hurricanes at NY Rangers

    Saturday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan