NC State

NC State starting Athletics Hall of Fame

Posted May 29, 2012

NC State will honor its first Athletics Hall of Fame Class Oct. 5, athletics director of media relations Annabelle Myers announced Tuesday.

The inaugural Hall of Fame class will be selected over the summer and will highlight the university’s greatest student-athletes, coaches and special contributors.

“Those who appreciate the achievements of NC State athletics will finally have the opportunity to appropriately recognize the individuals who have represented us so well,” said NC State director of athletics Deborah A. Yow. “We anticipate a sold-out event at historic Reynolds Coliseum in October.”

The class will be enshrined during a celebration at Reynolds Coliseum on Oct. 5, the night before NC State’s home game against Florida State. The inductees will also be recognized at halftime of the football game on Oct. 6.

A maximum of six individuals will be elected, except in the first three induction classes where up to 10 members can be elected. The election of a team will count as one inductee.

Former student-athletes cannot be considered until five years has passed since they played at NC State. Special inductees will be considered who have made special contributions to the Wolfpack athletics association, coaches, staff members, distinguished alumni or friends.

Fans can submit nominations for Hall of Fame candidates for the 14-person Hall of Fame Election Committee to consider. The 14-person committee is headed by executive associate athletics director Chris Kingston and includes four permanent members, 10 at-large members each serving two-year terms and one ex-officio non-voting member.

It includes, faculty athletics representative Sam Pardue, Wolfpack Club president Randy Ramsey, head of athletics media relations Annabelle Myers, at-large members David Horning, Tim Peeler, H. Frank Grainger, David Parker, Bob Kennel, Chris Corchiani, Kevin Howell, Laurie Henes, Teri Whyte Scott and ex-officio Michael Lipitz.

The deadline for nominations for the 2012 inaugural class is June 15.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • packfan07 May 31, 2012

    View quoted thread

    Talking about our obsession for cryolina. Last I looked this was a topic about N.C. State and cryolina fans are making crying statements on this N.C. State news article.

  • packfan07 May 31, 2012

    View quoted thread

    Can you translate to Swahilli. Talk about Shame. Your statement is a joke.

  • kjjones4 May 30, 2012

    View quoted thread

    This is a really stupid comment. First, there are numerous schools that have some sort of hand sign. I've seen carolina fans do one. Second, our current live mascot is like the 4th. The first was long before UNC had one. Third like every school in the country has used the "We are...." at one time or another. For example Penn State and Marshall. Your post screams obsession with NC State. Get a life man

  • cussmikemeout May 30, 2012

    View quoted thread

    Everything with you has do with your obsession for Carolina. Let's see ya'll stole the hand sign for Texas, and made it gay, Carolina had a live mascot,so State had to go and get a fake wolf, you stole the "We are State" from Duke. Just be happy for your little idea and leave Carolina out of this. We don't give a sheet about your hall of shame.

  • Tarheel born May 30, 2012

    View quoted thread

    Dang, that is funny. And it was fun to watch as well...

    In a seriousness though there are a ton of deserving candidates for this first '10' person inductee class.

  • heelsforever May 30, 2012

    View quoted thread

    Aren't you one of those here who rail on reading comprehension? If so, go back and read my first post (it's a few lines above this one. you can't miss it). There's absolutely nothing in that post that would suggest that I was angry, upset, or jealous. My response to you was not anger either. I simply pointed out how juvenile your response was. Take the high road. It feels better.

  • TruthBKnown Banned Again02 May 30, 2012

    View quoted thread

    Yep, you're mad that Carolina didn't think of this first. That's Ok. we understand.

  • Toddler10-21 May 30, 2012

    I thought the coach from NCCU invented the four corners, and Dean got all the credit for it. Anyways didnt like it anyway. It reminds me of the childhood game called "Keep Away". Roman Gabriel was the best to play QB at State. Ted Brown hands down the best RB!

  • gtr May 29, 2012

    View quoted thread

    I'm pretty sure Duke already has one.

  • Jewelry-EricLeak May 29, 2012

    View quoted thread

    Don't forget that Case introduced cheating to college athletics and the coaches who came after him, Sloan and Valvano must have made him very proud. I vote for a banner with the picture of all 3.




  • NFL: Hurricanes at Washington (Stream only)

    Tonight at 7:00 on 99.9 The Fan

  • NFL: Atlanta at New Orleans

    Tonight at 8:00 on 99.9 The Fan

Minor League Baseball
International League
El Paso 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
TOUR Championship (PGA)
1R. McIlroy - z-12F
2tR. Moore - y-12F
2tK. Chappell - y-12F
4P. Casey-9F
5H. Matsuyama-6F
6tJ. Thomas-5F
6tD. Johnson-5F
8tA. Scott-4F
8tJ. Dufner-4F
10tS. Kim-2F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
Evian Champ (LPGA)
1I. Chun-21F
2tS. Park-17F
2tS. Ryu-17F
4S. Feng-15F
5S. Kim-14F
6I. Kim-12F
7A. Stanford-10F
8H. Nomura-9F
9tB. Henderson-7F
9tA. Jutanugarn-7F
View Full Leaderboard
European Open (EURO)
1A. Levy - z-19F
2R. Fisher - y-19F
3tM. Jonzon-16F
3tR. Karlsson-16F
5B. Wiesberger-15F
6M. Kaymer-14F
7tR. Bland-13F
7tE. De La Riva-13F
7tF. Fritsch-13F
7tG. Havret-13F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
Pacific Links (CHMP)
1C. Montgomerie - z-15F
2S. McCarron - y-15F
3tM. Jimenez-13F
3tJ. Sluman-13F
3tS. Dunlap-13F
3tD. Garwood-13F
7tB. Langer-12F
7tM. Dawson-12F
7tO. Browne-12F
10tF. Funk-11F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
ATP Scoreboard
Sunday, Sep. 25
St. Petersburg Open (ATP)
(1) S. Wawrinka2 6 5   
(5) A. Zverev6 3 7   
Moselle Open (ATP)
(1) D. Thiem65 2    
(3) L. Pouille77 6    
WTA Scoreboard
Sunday, Sep. 25
Korea Open (WTA)
(5) M. Niculescu0 6 0   
L. Arruabarre6 2 6   
Wuhan Tennis Open (WTA)
First Round
Y. Wickmayer6 77    
S. Rogers3 61    
D. Kovinic79 5 4   
L. Siegemund67 7 6   
Y. Shvedova6 6    
S. Zheng0 3    
I. Begu4 77 6   
E. Kulichkova6 64 2   
V. Lepchenko5 3    
L. Safarova7 6    
T. Babos3 5    
K. Siniakova6 7    
(9) S. Kuznetsova6 3    
B. Bencic3 4    
(13) R. Vinci6 6    
M. Puig3 3    
(12) T. Bacsinszky3 3    
L. Chirico6 4    
E. Makarova6 6    
S. Lisicki1 2