RailHawks and Capitol Broadcasting Company expand broadcast partnership

Posted April 16, 2014

The Carolina RailHawks in partnership with Capitol Broadcasting Company will broadcast six home games live on television channel WRAL2. In addition, all RailHawks home games will be broadcast over the radio on 99.9HD-3 The Ticket. The stream of The Ticket is also available on Special games including marquee U.S. Open Cup home games and additional exhibition games will also likely be broadcast on the aforementioned Capital Broadcasting Company outlets.

WRAL2 is available to viewers over the air on channel 5.2 and on Time Warner Cable digital channel 106. The first match available for the at home fan’s viewing pleasure will be Saturday’s 2014 Home Opener when the RailHawks host the Fort Lauderdale Strikers at 7:30pm at WakeMed Soccer Park.

“The continuation and growth of our partnership with Capitol Broadcasting Company is another success story for the Carolina RailHawks and its fans,” said RailHawks President Curt Johnson. “In addition, fans around the world can view home and away matches through CBC is a company rooted in community involvement and they have long been advocates for the game of soccer and its growth in the Triangle. We are proud to grow our partnership in 2014.”

Dean Linke, Voice of the RailHawks, will return for his 8th season on the RailHawks broadcast and will partner with John Bouille, longtime soccer color commentator. Linke brings 18 years of broadcast experience to the RailHawks, having called professional and college soccer games for Fox Soccer, ESPN, the Big Ten Network, Comcast, the ACC Digital Network and Time Warner Cable. Linke also hosts a weekly college soccer show for the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

“Dean has been the Voice of the RailHawks since day one and we are proud to have him continue to serve a vital role in the broadcast booth and in the community,” said Johnson. “His work in coordination with our production team, headed by Kyle Lang, gives us one of the best broadcasts in the NASL and allows for the RailHawks to grow their media reach.”

In addition to Saturday’s Home Opener, the RailHawks television broadcast package on WRAL2 will include the New York Cosmos visit to WakeMed Soccer Park on May 3rd, the NASL Fall Season Opener on July 12th against Indy Eleven, the San Antonio Scorpions on September 13th, the 2014 Regular Season Finale on November 1st against Minnesota United and the exhibition match versus Puebla FC of Liga MX. All RailHawks away matches will continue to be broadcast through a webcast on

The Home Opener week festivities begin on Wednesday, April 16th with the RailHawks Fan Forum at Backyard Bistro beginning at 6:00pm. The Fan Forum will include NASL Commissioner, Bill Peterson, President of Traffic Sports USA, Aaron Davidson, RailHawks Team President, Curt Johnson and Head Coach, Colin Clarke. On Saturday, April 19th the RailHawks will host the Fort Lauderdale Strikers in the Home Opener and the 6th Annual Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint Community Shield Match.


Please to add a comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • PGA: John Deere Classic

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASL: RailHawks at Indy 11

    Saturday at 7:30 pm on WRAL-2

  • PGA: John Deere Classic

    Sunday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MiLB: Bulls at Charlotte

    Tonight at 6:50 on Buzz Sports Radio

  • MiLB: Bulls at Charlotte

    Tomorrow at 6:50 pm on Buzz Sports Radio

  • MiLB: Bulls vs. Gwinett

    Friday at 6:50 pm on Buzz Sports Radio

Greenbrier (PGA)
1D. Lee - z-13F
2tK. Kisner - y-13F
2tR. Streb - y-13F
2tD. Hearn - y-13F
5R. Henley-12F
6tJ. Hahn-11F
6tG. Owen-11F
6tA. Romero-11F
6tD. Lingmerth-11F
6tB. Todd-11F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
NW Ark Champ (LPGA)
1N. Choi-15F
2M. Miyazato-13F
3tS. Lewis-12F
3tA. Munoz-12F
3tA. Nordqvist-12F
6tP. Creamer-11F
6tL. Ko-11F
6tM. Lee-11F
9tM. Alex-10F
9tC. Kerr-10F
View Full Leaderboard
ATP Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jul. 7
Wimbledon (ATP/WTA)
WTA Scoreboard
Tuesday, Jul. 7
Wimbledon (ATP/WTA)
(4) M. Sharapova6 63 6   
C. Vandeweghe3 77 2   
(15) T. Bacsinszky5 3    
(20) G. Muguruza7 6    
(1) S. Williams3 6 6   
(23) V. Azarenka6 2 3   
(13) A. Radwanska77 3 6   
(21) M. Keys63 6 3