RailHawks' Zimmerman unanimous selection for NASL Best XI

Posted October 9, 2012

— The North American Soccer League announced Tuesday morning the players selected to the 2012 NASL Best XI team. Carolina RailHawks midfielder Nick Zimmerman was chosen to the Best XI team as a unanimous selection, joining San Antonio’s Pablo Campos and Fort Lauderdale’s Walter Restrepo as players unanimously voted to the Best XI. The NASL’s Best XI was chosen by a vote of the coaches of the eight teams that played in the 2012 season.

“This is a great recognition for Nick and one that was well deserved,” said RailHawks Head Coach Colin Clarke. “Scoring 15 goals is not an easy task, especially as a midfielder. Nick put in the hard work on and off the field that has made him a consistent presence for the team.”

The selection is Zimmerman’s first selection to the NASL Best XI. The 25-year-old Tampa, Florida native has been a consistent scoring threat on the field, tallying 15 goals over 26 regular season games. In his second season with the RailHawks, Zimmerman climbed into the record books. His 15 goals in 2012 gave him the second best goal scoring regular season in club history and his 21 goals as a RailHawks player, across all competitions, puts him second all-time leading scorer in RailHawks and NASL history.

Zimmerman and his RailHawks teammates will travel to Tampa Bay on Saturday, October 13th at 7:30 PM to close out the NASL Semifinal Series. Currently, down a goal in the aggregate score, the RailHawks will need a win by two or more goals on Saturday night to advance to the NASL Championship Series. A one-goal victory will force two 15-minute overtime periods following Saturday night’s match.

The October 13th match will be shown live online at Fans can join RailHawks players and fellow fans at Mellow Mushroom in Cary on Saturday for the RailHawks Viewing Party to watch the match. Mellow Mushroom, located at 4300 NW Cary Parkway, will have drink and food specials available including $3 pints and $12 pitchers of Lonerider’s Shotgun Betty. RailHawks staff will be on hand with raffles and giveaways. For more information on the viewing party and 2013 RailHawks ticket package call the Cruizers Box Office at 919-459-8144 or email

2012 NASL Best XI
F – Mark Anderson, Fort Lauderdale Strikers
F – Pablo Campos, San Antonio Scorpions
M – Luke Mulholland, Tampa Bay Rowdies
M – Walter Ramirez, San Antonio Scorpions
M – Walter Restrepo, Fort Lauderdale Strikers
M – Nick Zimmerman, Carolina RailHawks
D – Kyle Altman, Minnesota Stars
D – Ryan Cochrane, San Antonio Scorpions
D – Paul Hamilton, FC Edmonton
D – Takuya Yamada, Tampa Bay Rowdies
GK – Jeff Attinella, Tampa Bay Rowdies


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • FIFA Confederations Cup: Mexico v. Russia

    Today at 11:00 am on FOX50

  • Yachting: America’s Cup

    Today at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MLS: New York FC v. New York Red Bulls

    Today at 1:30 pm on FOX50

  • US Track & Field Championships

    Today at 4:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MLB: Anaheim at Boston

    Tonight at 7:00 on FOX50

  • NASL: RailHawks v. Indy Eleven

    Tonight at 7:30 on WRAL-2

  • Yachting: America’s Cup

    Tomorrow at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • US Track & Field Championships

    Tomorrow at 4:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MLB: Pittsburgh at St. Louis

    Tonight at 6:00 on 99.9 The Fan

  • MLB: Pittsburgh at St. Louis

    Tomorrow at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • College World Series: Teams TBD

    Monday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • College World Series: Teams TBD

    Tuesday at 7:45 pm on 99.9 The Fan

Minor League Baseball
International League
Lehigh Valley 10:35 PT11:35 MT12:35 CT1:35 ET11:35 MT1:35 ET6:35 GMT2:35 北京时间
Indianapolis 2:00 PT3:00 MT4:00 CT5:00 ET3:00 MT5:00 ET10:00 GMT6:00 北京时间
Norfolk 3:05 PT4:05 MT5:05 CT6:05 ET4:05 MT6:05 ET11:05 GMT7:05 北京时间
Pawtucket 3:35 PT4:35 MT5:35 CT6:35 ET4:35 MT6:35 ET11:35 GMT7:35 北京时间
Charlotte 3:35 PT4:35 MT5:35 CT6:35 ET4:35 MT6:35 ET11:35 GMT7:35 北京时间
Buffalo 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET5:05 MT7:05 ET12:05 GMT8:05 北京时间
Toledo 4:15 PT5:15 MT6:15 CT7:15 ET5:15 MT7:15 ET12:15 GMT8:15 北京时间
Indianapolis 4:30 PT5:30 MT6:30 CT7:30 ET5:30 MT7:30 ET12:30 GMT8:30 北京时间
ATP Scoreboard
Saturday, Jun. 24
AEGON Championships (ATP)
(4) M. Cilic 
G. Muller 
(6) G. Dimitrov 
F. Lopez 
Gerry Weber Open (ATP)
(1) R. Federer 
K. Khachanov 
(4) A. Zverev 
R. Gasquet 
WTA Scoreboard
Saturday, Jun. 24
AEGON Classic Birmingham (WTA)
(7) P. Kvitova 
L. Safarova 
(6) G. Muguruza 
A. Barty 
Mallorca Open (WTA)
J. Goerges 
C. Bellis 
(2) A. Sevastova 
(3) C. Garcia