Renfree, Crowder earn ACC weekly honors

Posted November 26, 2012

— Sean Renfree and Jamison Crowder were each named to the ACC players of the week list Monday after posting big-time numbers in a 52-45 loss to Miami.

In a losing effort, Renfree was 36-for-59 passing for 432 yards and four touchdowns without throwing an interception. Renfree matched the Duke record for most touchdown passes in a half with four in the second half on Saturday while his 432 passing yards were the eighth most in school history.

Crowder, who was named the receiver of the week, was on the tail end of an ACC-record 99-yard touchdown reception en route to a 203-yard, two-touchdown day. Crowder also set the Duke single-season record Saturday with his fifth touchdown of over 50 yards.

Miami running back Duke Johnson also earned rookie of the week honors for his performance in Durham Saturday. Johnson ran for a career-high 176 yards and three touchdowns while accumulation a total of 277 all-purpose yards.

Other weekly award winners were Florida State defensive lineman Bjoern Werner, FSU kicker Dustin Hopkins, Maryland kick returner Stefon Diggs, Clemson corner back Xavier Brewer and Virginia linebacker Steve Greer.


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • US Olympic Trials: Swimming

    Tonight at 8:00 on WRAL-TV

  • US Olympic Trials: Swimming

    Tomorrow at 8:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • US Olympic Trials: Swimming

    Friday at 8:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • US Olympic Trials: Track & Field

    Friday at 9:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • US Olympic Trials: Track & Field

    Saturday at 2:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NASCAR: Sprint Cup at Daytona

    Saturday at 7:00 pm on WRAL-TV

ATP Scoreboard
Wednesday, Jun. 29
Wimbledon (ATP/WTA)
Second Round
(1) N. Djokovic6 6 77   
A. Mannarino4 3 65   
(3) R. Federer6 6 6   
M. Willis0 3 4   
(28) S. Querrey6 5    
T. Bellucci4 2    
(30) A. Dolgopolov6     
D. Evans6     
(13) D. Ferrer1     
N. Mahut3     
(16) G. Simon0     
G. Dimitrov1     
J. Chardy0     
S. Johnson1     
P. Herbert 
D. Dzumhur 
N. Almagro 
D. Istomin 
(5) K. Nishikori 
J. Benneteau 
A. Kuznetsov 
G. Muller 
(27) J. Sock 
R. Haase 
(23) I. Karlovic 
L. Lacko 
(11) D. Goffin 
E. Roger-Vass 
(9) M. Cilic 
S. Stakhovsky 
(6) M. Raonic 
A. Seppi