RailHawks earn home playoff match with tie at Tampa

Posted September 20, 2012

— The Carolina RailHawks  closed their three-game road trip Wednesday night with a 1-1 tie against the Tampa Bay Rowdies. With the tie, the RailHawks secured home field advantage for the Quarterfinal Round in the NASL Playoffs which will take place on Saturday, Sept. 29 at 7 p.m.

Ty Shipalane scored the equalizer for the RailHawks after Andres Arango gave the Rowdies the lead in the 13th minute.

“After a slow start, we finished strong, creating dangerous chances. Unfortunately we were only able to finish the one,” said Head Coach Colin Clarke. “We were still able to come away with an important point and secure home field advantage for the quarterfinal match.”

The Rowdies (12W-8T-7L, 44 pts.) jumped ahead on the scoreboard in the 13th minute when Arango scored off a corner kick from Luke Mulholland. Using their speed, the RailHawks (10W-9T-8L, 39 pts.) finished the half strong with chances on goal, but Rowdies goalkeeper Jeff Attinella held strong denying the RailHawks advances. Attinella continued his strong play in the second half, but was unable to keep the clean sheet when Shipalane found the equalizer in the 61st minute. Shipalane’s shot from the top of the box took a deflection that left Attinella out of position to make the save. Shipalane closed out the RailHawks three-game road trip with two goals and an assist.

The RailHawks will host the NASL Playoffs Quarterfinal Round at WakeMed Soccer Park . RailHawks 2012 Season Ticket Holders will receive all home playoff matches as part of their Season Ticket package and new 2013 Season Tickets purchased by Sept. 22 will also include all 2012 playoff home matches. Season Ticket and Flex Plan Holders will have an exclusive opportunity to purchase additional Playoff tickets until 5 p.m. on Thursday when tickets will open to the general public. To honor the RailHawks 12th man, all Premium priced Playoff tickets will start at $12. The 12th man offer will be available through Saturday’s Regular Season finale.

The RailHawks will close out the 2012 NASL Regular Season against the Tampa Bay Rowdies on Saturday, Sept. 22 at WakeMed Soccer Park. As tradition, the final regular season match will be Fan Appreciation Night and team awards will be handed out pregame. The first 1,000 fans will receive a 2012 Carolina RailHawks team poster courtesy of Etix. To purchase tickets for the regular season finale or 2013 Season Tickets visit For more information on RailHawks tickets and game information contact the Cruizers Box Offer by calling 919-459-8144 or by emailing


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • College World Series: Teams TBD

    Tomorrow at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • College World Series: Teams TBD

    Tuesday at 7:45 pm on 99.9 The Fan

Minor League Baseball
International League
Lehigh Valley4Final
Charlotte 2:05 PT3:05 MT4:05 CT5:05 ET3:05 MT5:05 ET10:05 GMT6:05 北京时间
Indianapolis 3:05 PT4:05 MT5:05 CT6:05 ET4:05 MT6:05 ET11:05 GMT7:05 北京时间
Travelers Champ (PGA)
1J. Spieth - z-12F
2D. Berger - y-12F
3tC. Hoffman-10F
3tD. Lee-10F
5tP. Reed-9F
5tP. Casey-9F
5tB. Weekley-9F
8tK. Streelman-8F
8tT. Merritt-8F
8tW. Simpson-8F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
NW Ark Champ (LPGA)
1S. Ryu-18F
2tM. Jutanugarn-16F
2tA. Yang-16F
4tS. Lewis-13F
4tM. Wie-13F
6tM. Lee-12F
6tI. Park-12F
8tM. Alex-11F
8tN. Broch Larsen-11F
10tC. Choi-10F
View Full Leaderboard
ATP Scoreboard
Sunday, Jun. 25
AEGON Championships (ATP)
(4) M. Cilic6 62 68   
F. Lopez4 77 710   
Gerry Weber Open (ATP)
(1) R. Federer6 6    
(4) A. Zverev1 3    
AEGON International (ATP/WTA)
Antalya Open (ATP)
First Round
D. Istomin4 77 4   
S. Darcis6 65 6   
(7) B. Coric5 4    
A. Mannarino7 6    
WTA Scoreboard
Sunday, Jun. 25
AEGON Classic Birmingham (WTA)
(7) P. Kvitova4 6 6   
A. Barty6 3 2   
Mallorca Open (WTA)
(2) A. Sevastova6 3 6   
J. Goerges4 6 3   
AEGON International (ATP/WTA)
First Round
C. Suarez Nav6 6    
E. Makarova3 1    
A. Riske6 7    
A. Cornet4 5    
L. Tsurenko3 6 4   
H. Watson6 4 6   
T. Babos1 1    
E. Mertens6 6    
M. Lucic-Baro4 7 5   
M. Niculescu6 5 7   
Y. Putintseva4 77 1   
L. Arruabarre6 62 2   
A. Konjuh4 0    
M. Barthel6 1