North Carolina

SWIM/DIVE: UNC's Nagle, Kwatyra Claim Nike Titles

Posted November 16, 2012

North Carolina Logo

— Senior Brett Nagle and freshman Matt Kwatyra won individual championships and UNC’s women swept a pair of relay events on the opening night of the 2012 Janis Hape Dowd Nike Cup at Koury Natatorium.

Nagle claimed the 500-yard freestyle in 4:24.04 while Kwatyra won the 200-yard individual medley with a clocking of 1:48.54. UNC’s women claimed the 200-yard freestyle relay in 1:33.18 while also notching first place in the 400-yard medley relay with a time of 3:44.42.

After the first night of competition, NC State lead both the women’s and men’s team scores. Scores on the women side are NC State at 265, Navy at 219.5, UNC at 218, East Carolina at 166.5, Old Dominion at 112 and Northeastern at 102. The Wolfpack leads the men’s team scores with 366.5 points followed by Navy with 222.5, Carolina with 219, East Carolina with 153 and Old Dominion at 116.

The Tar Heel women’s team got the evening off on a high note as its “A” relay in the 200-yard freestyle relay captured the Nike Cup championship in a time of 1:33.18. The UNC relay consisted of Nikki Barczak (23.88), Ally Hardesty (23.39), Hannah Lincoln (22.67) and Danielle Siverling (23.24). NC State and Navy relays finished 2-3 in the event.

NC State’s 200-yard freestyle relay took gold in the event as the team of Simonas Bilis, Jonathan Boffa, Joseph Martin and David Williams touched first in 1:20.75, winning by almost a full second. UNC’s “A” relay took second place with Logan Heck, Kyle Ficker, J.T. Stilley and Sean Sullivan clocking a time of 1:21.71.

Yesim Giresunlu of OldDominion won the women’s 500-yard freestyle with a time of 4:52.92. Kristin Connors of NC State claimed the silver and Rachael Dudley of Navy was the bronze medalist. UNC’s top finisher was Stephanie Eisenringwho finished 11th in a time of 4:59.19.

UNC senior co-captain Brett Nagle won the championship in the men’s 500-yard freestyle in a time of 4:24.04, finishing 2.22 seconds ahead of second place Thomas Duvall of Navy. Carolina sophomore Graham Williams was also in the championship final, taking sixth place in 4:35.94.

ODU won its second straight event on the women’s side as Kimberly Rasleigh touched first in the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:01.45. She was almost two full seconds ahead of runner-up Laura Gorinski ofNavy who clocked a 2:03.11. UNC’s top finisher was freshman Annie Goessling in sixth place with a time of 2:06.58.

In the men’s 200-yard individual medley, Carolina won its second straight title on the night as freshman Matt Kwatyra touched first in 1:48.54. That moves him into ninth place all time in Carolina history in the event. He blew away the rest of the field, finishing 2.16 seconds ahead of runner-up Ben Bondurant of Navy. UNC sophomore Clifton Gordon took second place in the consolation heat and 10th overall in 1:52.05.

In the women’s 50-yard freestyle, Riki Bonnema won the championship in a time of 23.18 seconds. She edged a pair of UNC swimmers who placed 2-3. Hannah Lincoln clocked a 23.21 to finish second and Nikki Barczak was third in 23.34.

Sidni Hoxha of Old Dominion won the men’s 50-yard freestyle pulling away from the field to win in a time of 19.97. Simonas Bilis of NC State was second in 20.34. Carolina’s best finish came from junior Kyle Ficker who was fifth in 20.72.

NC State won both of the platform diving competitions. Senior Hannah Hopkins of the Wolfpack placed first in the women’s competition with 271.90 points, more than 40 points ahead of second place Rachael Mumma of NC State, who totaled 228.60. Carolina’s top finishers were a pair of sophomores as Natalie Ritter took fourth with 201.45 points and Emily Schmidt claimed fifth with 201.20 points.

On the men’s side, NC State captured the top two places with Hudson Rains finishing well ahead of the field, totaling 307.45 points. His teammate Charles Retter was second with 273.50 points. A pair of senior divers from Carolina finished fourth and fifth with Ryland Jones scoring 246.15 points and Jake Kinzbach totaling 232.00 points.

The UNC women’s 400-yard medley relay team cruised to victory in the next-to-last event of the evening. The relay touched first in 3:44.42 and included Katie Nolan (56.12), Katie Rechsteiner (1:04.33), Cari Blalock(53.03) and Danielle Siverling (50.94).

NC State won the final event of the evening as Ivan Kopas, Ian Bishop, Barrett Miesfeld and Jonathan Boffa touched first in the 400-yard medley relay with a time of 3:16.22. The “A” Carolina relay placed second in the event with a time of 3:19.44. That relay was an all-freshman affair for UNC and included Nic Graesser, Kurt Wohlrab, Ben Colley and Logan Heck.

Nike Cup action continues Friday with preliminaries at 10 a.m. and finals at 7 p.m. in eight events each for men and women.


Please with your account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • Premier League Soccer: Crystal Palace vs. Burnley

    Saturday at 12:30 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NHL Playoffs: Teams TBD

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NHL Playoffs: Teams TBD

    Saturday at 8:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • NBA Basketball Playoffs Golden State Warriors at Portland Trailblazers

    Tomorrow at 9:30 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • NFL Draft Coverage

    Thursday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • NFL Draft Coverage

    Friday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

  • NHL Hockey Playoffs

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

1C. Kerr-20F
2tI. Chun-17F
2tS. Jang-17F
2tL. Ko-17F
5A. Sharp-16F
6S. Ryu-15F
7tA. Jutanugarn-14F
7tS. Lewis-14F
9tC. Clanton-13F
9tD. Kang-13F
View Full Leaderboard
Shenzhen Intl (EURO)
1B. Wiesberger - z-16F
2T. Fleetwood - y-16F
3tG. Bourdy-15F
3tR. Fisher-15F
5tD. Frittelli-14F
5tD. Lipsky-14F
5tF. Zanotti-14F
8tT. Jaidee-13F
8tA. Levy-13F
8tT. Olesen-13F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
ATP Scoreboard
Sunday, Apr. 23
Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters (ATP)
(4) R. Nadal6 6    
(15) A. Ramos-Vino1 3