Aaron Schoonmaker

WRAL and related platforms to honor players of the year

Posted November 18, 2013
Updated November 24, 2013

Eric Ebron (85) questions a holding call during the UNC vs. NC State game on November 2, 2013 in Raleigh, North Carolina.

For the first time ever, the Capitol Broadcasting Company’s team of sports reporters from TV, radio and the Web will combine to award a Player of the Year in college football, men’s basketball and women’s basketball.

There will be a 17-person committee consisting of six radio representatives from 620 The Buzz and 99.9 The Fan ESPN Radio, five from WRAL-TV, three from WRALSportsFan.com and two regular WRAL contributors.

We’ll consider any player across the state of North Carolina who competes at the Division- I level. North Carolina gets win over ECU, 27-6 Slideshow: CBC football Player of the Year nominees

The committee will select five finalists in each of the three sports based on a pool of nominees suggested by the panelists.

The winner will then be determined by a scaled vote (similar to the Heisman) with 1st places votes worth 5 points and 5th place votes worth 1 point.

The good news for you – the fan – is that you will also be involved. A fan vote will be weighted equal to one member of our committee.

Voting begins next Monday, Nov. 25.

The final votes will then be counted based on 17 voters (max points 85) and an honoree named the Monday following the last regular season contest.

For this year’s football season, our panelists have identified, in no particular order, the following semifinalists:

Jamison Crowder Duke
Jeremy Cash Duke
Ross Cockrell Duke
Kelby Brown Duke
Brandon Connette Duke
Shane Carden ECU
Justin Hardy ECU
Chrishon Rose ECU
Tarik Cohen NC A&T
Tazmon Foster NC Central
Adrian Wilkins NC Central
Niklas Sade NC State
Eric Ebron UNC
Kareem Martin UNC
James Hurst UNC
Marquise Williams UNC
Michael Campanaro Wake Forest
Nikita Whitlock Wake Forest


Please with your WRAL.com account to comment on this story. You also will need a Facebook account to comment.

Oldest First
View all
  • Banned by Cowards Nov 21, 2013


  • S.HOLMES Nov 19, 2013

    mike,mark the dummies in the afternoon,tudor,glenn, and so on- the self proclaimed experts- they will figure out a way to screw it up ECU-QB-WR should make it couple of DUKE players the rest should be also rans.

  • StunGunn Nov 19, 2013

    View quoted thread

    Sade is money just about every time he kicks the ball. He'll be playing on Sundays.

  • StunGunn Nov 19, 2013

    Wow - talk about a tough task; there's a lot of deserving athletes on that list.

  • jdupree Nov 19, 2013

    Campanero is the best athlete in the state, not the most athletically gifted, but he has consistantly out performed anyone else.

  • jabparker4 Nov 19, 2013

    Carden should win this right now, no questions asked, he is the best football player right now in NC.

  • 903 Hook em banned Nov 18, 2013

    only one state player on the list and it's the kicker...ouch

  • Golf: U.S. Senior Open

    Saturday at 1:00 pm on FOX50

  • US Swimming National Championships

    Saturday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Women’s PGA Championship

    Saturday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MLB: NY Yankees at Houston

    Saturday at 7:00 pm on FOX50

  • NASCAR: Coke Zero 400 at Daytona

    Saturday at 8:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Golf: U.S. Senior Open

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on FOX50

  • US Swimming National Championships

    Sunday at 1:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • Women’s PGA Championship

    Sunday at 3:00 pm on WRAL-TV

  • MiLB: MiLB: Bulls at Indianapolis

    Tonight at 7:00 on Buzz Sports Radio

  • MLB: Washington at St. Louis

    Saturday at 7:00 pm on 99.9 The Fan

Minor League Baseball
International League
Louisville 9:05 PT10:05 MT11:05 CT12:05 ET5:05 GMT
Rochester 10:05 PT11:05 MT12:05 CT1:05 ET6:05 GMT
Scranton/Wilkes-Barre 3:35 PT4:35 MT5:35 CT6:35 ET11:35 GMT
Gwinnett 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Pawtucket 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Lehigh Valley 
Durham 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Columbus 4:05 PT5:05 MT6:05 CT7:05 ET12:05 GMT
Travelers Champ (PGA)
1J. Spieth - z-12F
2D. Berger - y-12F
3tC. Hoffman-10F
3tD. Lee-10F
5tP. Reed-9F
5tP. Casey-9F
5tB. Weekley-9F
8tK. Streelman-8F
8tT. Merritt-8F
8tW. Simpson-8F
View Full Leaderboard
z = Won in Playoff   y = Lost in Playoff
NW Ark Champ (LPGA)
1S. Ryu-18F
2tA. Yang-16F
2tM. Jutanugarn-16F
4tM. Wie-13F
4tS. Lewis-13F
6tM. Lee-12F
6tI. Park-12F
8tN. Broch Larsen-11F
8tM. Alex-11F
10tM. Harigae-10F
View Full Leaderboard
ATP Scoreboard
Wednesday, Jun. 28
AEGON International (ATP/WTA)
Second Round
R. Haase4     
D. Medvedev3     
(4) S. Johnson6 2    
T. Fabbiano3 2    
(3) J. Isner1     
D. Lajovic2     
(2) G. Monfils6 2    
C. Norrie3 1    
(7) R. Gasquet 
K. Anderson 
(6) M. Zverev 
B. Tomic 
Antalya Open (ATP)
Second Round
(2) P. Lorenzi3 4    
R. Albot6 6    
J. Tipsarevic6 4 4   
A. Seppi3 6 6   
D. Altmaier6 3 77   
M. Ilhan3 6 65   
(4) D. Ferrer3 6 62   
Y. Sugita6 3 77   
WTA Scoreboard
Wednesday, Jun. 28
AEGON International (ATP/WTA)
Third Round
(2) S. Halep66 1    
T. Pironkova78 2